IAN GILLAN's 'One Eye To Morocco': Artwork Revealed

Eagle Rock Entertainment will release "One Eye To Morocco" — the first studio album with all-new material in 10 years from legendary DEEP PURPLE singer Ian Gillan — on March 31 through subsidiary Eagle Records (prebook date March 11, retail sales price $13.98).

Check out the cover artwork below.

Produced and recorded in Canada with maestro Nick Blagona, the music was written by Ian Gillan together with longtime collaborator Steve Morris, as well as Michael Lee Jackson and Rodney Appleby — who both performed on the "Gillan's Inn" U.S. tour, as featured on the double album/DVD "Live in Anaheim" (released through Edel Entertainment).

The musicians are:

Michael Lee Jackson - Guitar
Rodney Appleby - Bass
Howard Wilson - Drums
Joe Menonna - Saxophone
Lance Anderson - Hammond Organ
Jesse O'Brien - Keyboards

The voice is instantly recognizable; Ian Gillan's unique style draws you in. "One Eye To Morocco" goes deeper into the roots of rock and roll, soul and blues, than any other Ian Gillan solo album.

The CD is the most adventurous and complete album Ian Gillan has recorded in his long career. His distinguished style admired by generations of DEEP PURPLE fans is showcased, as well as his musical versatility. The title track is a seductive orchestration supporting Gillan's entrancing style, followed by the pure rock and roll of "No Lotion For That", while "Better Days" and "Always The Traveler" are inspired soul ballads.

"From a café in the Jewish Quarter of Cracow, where the conceptual seeds were sown, to harvest time at a Toronto studio, this is a magical journey for me," says Gillan. "Sitting alone in my room, waiting for no one to call me, lost in a dream of my own…"

"One Eye To Morocco" track listing:

01. One Eye To Morocco
02. No Lotion For That
03. Don't Stop
04. Change My Ways
05. Girl Goes To Show
06. Better Days
07. Deal With It
08. Ultimate Groove
09. The Sky Is Falling Down
10. Texas State Of Mind
11. It Would Be Nice
12. Always The Traveler


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).