HEAVEN & HELL's 'Dress Rehearsal' In Van Nuys: Report, Photos Available

HEAVEN & HELL — the band featuring BLACK SABBATH members Tony Iommi (guitar), Ronnie James Dio (vocals), Geezer Butler (bass) and Vinny Appice (drums) — played a final "dress rehearsal" for its upcoming South American tour earlier today (Sunday, April 26) at a "secret" location in Van Nuys, California. According to one of 50-80 people (including radio station contest winners) that attended the special showcase, "They had their full arena stage setup they're taking to South America. Everything aside from the drum riser was at ground level so I was looking Geezer in the eyes and looking down at Ronnie while they were playing 15 feet away from me.

"They only did four songs... which they'd apparently not done for an audience before that they were rehearsing for the tour. Of course, I was wanting a full set, but 30 minutes that close and that comfortable was still more than amazing."

Another person who attended the event added, "The power was raw, everyone was on game and energetic, and Dio was singing like the RAINBOW days. I was blown away."

HEAVEN & HELL's short set consisted of the following tracks:

01. Bible Black
02. Fear
03. Follow the Tears
04. Time Machine

Check out photos of the rehearsal:


The video for "Bible Black", the first single from HEAVEN & HELL's highly anticipated new album, "The Devil You Know", made its worldwide debut this past Saturday night, April 25 on VH1 Classic. The animated clip, produced by 23d Films, aired following the premiere of the newest episode of "That Metal Show", which featured HEAVEN & HELL's Ronnie James Dio and Geezer Butler.

Yahoo! Music will have the exclusive online premiere of the video starting tomorrow (Monday, April 27).

The "Bible Black" video was produced by Joseph A. Russo II and James A. Fino from 23d Films, Inc. and was directed byBen Ceccarelli. The epic song was one of the first songs written for the new album and finds the quartet of Ronnie James Dio, Tony Iommi, Geezer Butler, and Vinny Appice in top form. "When you start off with a blockbuster like that, it makes the rest of the album so much easier because it gives you a benchmark to measure the other songs against," says Dio.

HEAVEN & HELL will make a rare in-store appearance at Best Buy in San Bernadino, California on Saturday, May 2. All four members of the group will be on hand to celebrate the release of "The Devil You Know". Best Buy stores will offer an exclusive version of the album featuring a bonus DVD with unreleased video of the band recording the album including studio performances, interviews, and other behind-the-scenes content. Fans who buy "The Devil You Know" at the San Bernadino Best Buy beginning on April 28 will get a wristband which will grant them access to get their copy signed by the band. Fans can also get wristbands for the event by purchasing the album at Best Buy stores in Burbank, Rancho Cucamonga and Riverside.

The details are as follows:

Saturday, May 2 at 2:00 p.m.

Best Buy
888 Harriman Place
San Bernadino, CA 92480
(909) 885-4049

"The Devil You Know" is available for streaming in its entirety on VH1.com's The Leak.

"The Devil You Know" track listing:

01. Atom And Evil (5:15)
02. Fear (4:48)
03. Bible Black (6:29)
04. Double The Pain (5:25)
05. Rock And Roll Angel (6:25)
06. The Turn Of The Screw (5:02)
07. Eating The Cannibals (3:37)
08. Follow The Tears (6:12)
09. Neverwhere (4:35)
10. Breaking Into Heaven (7:03)


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).