HAMMERS OF MISFORTUNE: New Music Posted Online, Artwork Unveiled

Profound Lore Records has posted the cover artwork (see below) and a song each from the upcoming HAMMERS OF MISFORTUNE full-length albums "Fields" and "Church Of Broken Glass". Check out the tracks "Rats Assembly" (from "Fields") and "Church Of Broken Glass" (from the album of the same name) at this location.

As previously reported, "Fields" and "Church Of Broken Glass" will be presented as one package. To be released as a double CD via Profound Lore Records late October (vinyl via 20 Buck Spin), the new HAMMERS release presents itself like, as the band say, a split with themselves. Both LPs, while joined at the spine, will be distinct from each other musically, conceptually, aesthetically, and even have different artwork and logos.

What will be HAMMERS' most challenging offerings yet, "Fields" and "Church Of Broken Glass" are unlike anything Hammers have presented before; both albums present a much more vintage sound, with the '70s prog-rock influence making its presence felt like never before, all while manifesting influences from classic rock to classic metal through a wide spectrum of ultra-progressive musical fervor.

Initially, "Fields" and "Church Of Broken Glass" were written specifically for the double LP format, a challenge in itself to fit the time constraints that a single LP can hold, and the different sound and approach mastermind John Cobbett took on creating the new albums was also because of the new members within the HAMMERS fold; namely new (male) vocalist/guitarist Patrick Goodwin and new (female) vocalist Jesse Quattro who bring a new voice to the HAMMERS sound. While Goodwin brings a more classic rock-like approach to the band than his predecessor (namely Mike Scalzi of SLOUGH FEG fame), Quattro comes in as the most prominent female HAMMERS vocalist yet.

"Church Of Broken Glass" track listing:

01. Almost (Left Without You)
02. Butchertown
03. The Gulls
04. Church Of Broken Glass
05. Train

"Fields" track listing:

1. The Fields Trilogy:
a) Agriculture
b) Fields
c) Motorcade
2. Rats Assembly
3. Always Looking Down
4. Too Soon


John Cobbett (guitars/vocals)
Sigrid Sheie (keyboards/vocals)
Patrick Goodwin (vocals/guitars)
Jesse Quattro (vocals)
Ron Nichols (bass)
Chewy (drums)


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).