GORGUTS' 'Obscura' To Be Made Available On Vinyl For First Time

Canadian label War On Music has announced the long-overdue vinyl release of GORGUTS' 1998 album, "Obscura". The groundbreaking record is highly regarded as an unrivalled masterpiece of the death metal genre. When it first was unleashed in 1998, "Obscura" was a drastic but not unexpected departure from the earlier more traditional death metal GORGUTS offerings. Technical, extreme, often odd and discordant but deeply compelling, "Obscura" was an album which appeared difficult at first but commanded repeated listens and unquestioned respect. Over an hour of relentless, punishing, highly evolved compositions bearing no worthy comparison, but fitting in comfortably and confidently among the highest ranks of eastern Canadian metal such as VOIVOD, CRYPTOPSY and KATAKLYSM.

Never before on vinyl, the highly anticipated monstrous onslaught will be released as a double gatefold LP available early spring 2012. Watch for release details and pre-orders at www.waronmusic.com.

Track listing:

Side A

01. Obscura
02. Earthly Love
03. The Carnal State
04. Nostalgia

Side B

05. The Art of Sombre Ecstasy
06. Clouded

Side C

07. Subtle Body
08. Rapturous Grief
09. La Vie Est Preludeā€¦ (La Morte Orgasme)

Side D

10. Illuminatus
11. Faceless Ones
12. Sweet Silence

GORGUTS recently reformed with a new lineup including genre heavyweights John Longstreth (drums; DIM MAK, ORIGIN, THE RED CHORD, SKINLESS, POSSESSION, ANGELCORPSE), Colin Marston (bass; DYSRHYTHMIA, BEHOLD... THE ARCTOPUS, BYLA, KRALLICE, INDRICOTHERE) and Kevin Hufnagel (guitar; DYSRHYTHMIA, WHILE HEAVEN WEPT, BYLA, EUCLID STREET, THE FIFTH SEASON, GREY DIVISION BLUE). They are currently putting the finishing touches on their new record, which is expected sometime in early 2012.


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).