GHOST's 'Opus Eponymous' To Receive U.S. Release In January

Bizarre Swedish black metal buzz band GHOST will dispense its debut directive, "Opus Eponymous", in North America on January 18, 2011 via Rise Above Records. The release of the album will assist the abhorrent agents in spreading their "unholy gospel" and "tricking mankind into believing the end is ultimately a good thing via the ever so popular rock music medium."

GHOST's "Opus Eponymous" is a daringly fascinating combination of satanic rock music merged with an almost unthinkable pop sensibility; this is black metal at its most original and deceiving apex. Musically rich and teeming with an undeniably authentic classic metal aura (described "as if the last three decades of heavy metal history never existed"), "Opus Eponymous" baits and ensnares with its undeniable accessibility while "majestically weaving a melodic spell of evil through the senses until listeners become utterly possessed and open to any diabolical suggestion."

Enveloped in a shroud of mystery and standing anonymous beneath the painted faces, hoods and robes which their sect demand, the six nameless ghouls of GHOST deliver litanies of pulsating heavy rock and stimulating lyrics which "glorify and glamorize the disgusting and sacrilegious". The music and philosophies of GHOST specifically target "individuals who have a void in their life perhaps caused by some form of emotional trauma or upset" (research suggests these are most likely adolescents); this dearth can then be alluringly filled by GHOST's music and philosophies, "so that in time the easily manipulated will come to share the views and goals of the Coven's ministry and can prepare their own plans for the downfall of humanity."

A sampling of the sextet's suggestive strain is available for ingestion immediately as Stereogum premieres the shadowy GHOST song "Ritual". Check out the unsettling, "chirpiest song about human sacrifice" ever put to tape today at this location.

"Our mission is not as much about conversion as it is about underlining which path you all have chosen to go, and where it will ultimately lead you," declared GHOST in a rare communiqué. "We are the file playing back in your digital earpiece while you are carelessly approaching the end."

"Opus Eponymous" track listing:

01. Deus Culpa
02. Con Clavi Con Dio
03. Ritual
04. Elizabeth
05. Stand by Him
06. Satan Prayer
07. Death Knell
08. Prime Mover
09. Genesis

"Ritual" audio stream:


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).