GEORGE LYNCH Talks About 'Kill All Control' Solo Album In New Interview

Scott Iwasaki of recently George Lynch, the former lead guitarist for DOKKEN and leader of his own rock bands LYNCH MOB and SOULS OF WE. A couple of excerpts from the chat follow below. The big news for you is the release of your new solo album, "Kill All Control", on July 19.

George: The album is actually released as SOULS OF WE in Japan, but as George Lynch everywhere else in the world. It started as a follow-up to the follow-up to the last SOULS OF WE album, "Let The Truth Be Known". The lineup started off with London LeGrand (BRIDES OF DESTRUCTION, SOULS OF WE), myself, Adrian Ost (drummer for POWERMAN 5000) and Nic Speck (from RUN RUN RUN) on bass. We went in as a band and our intention was to write and record a record in a month. We went in and wrote furiously and wrote the record in 10 days. The album features different lead singers. What happened?

George: We went into the studio to record, and I ran into that "singer" wall. London is my friend and I love him, but a voice is not like a guitar. It's not a mechanical instrument, and singers are a different animal. Things just didn't work out and I had to look elsewhere for someone to complete the record, which took almost two years to finish. Had I known that retrospectively, I would have taken more time writing the music. [Laughs]. Did the different lead singers dictate how the music was presented?

George: I have an idea in my head of what melodies I would put in there if I could sing. I've hardly ever written with a singer and let them guide the ship. It's always been getting the song's instrumentals done first and then adding the vocals. We brought in Will Martin from EARSHOT and Keith St. John, who works with MONTROSE, and Marq Torien from the BULLETBOYS.

Read the entire interview from

"Kill All Control" combines many of Lynch's varied styles and histories, including a reflection back to earlier days which spawned a follow-up to the instrumental DOKKEN track "Mr. Scary", called "Son Of Scary", featuring Fred Coury of CINDERELLA on drums. Additional guests on the album include a variety of known singers. Will Marten (EARSHOT), Marq Torien (BULLETBOYS), and Keith St. John (MONTROSE) all joined in on the new album in which George hopes he was able "to create an eclectic listening experience for my fans."

"Kill All Control" track listing:

01. Kill All Control
02. Brank New Day
03. Done
04. Flys Wall
05. Wicked Witch
06. Man on Fire
07. Voices In My Head
08. Resurrect
09. Here Comes The Sun
10. My Enemy
11. Son Of Scary

"Son Of Scary" audio stream (courtesy of AOL's Noisecreep):


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).