GAMMA RAY: 'To The Metal' Video Released

"To The Metal", the new video from German power metallers GAMMA RAY, can be viewed below. The clip was directed by Ronald Matthes for Berlinn, Germany's Roax Films.

"To The Metal" is the title track of GAMMA RAY's new album, which is scheduled for release on January 29 via earMUSIC/Edel. GAMMA RAYKai Hansen (vocals/guitar), Dirk Schlächter (bass), Henjo Richter (guitar) and Daniel Zimmermann (drums) — recorded a total of twelve new songs earlier this fall at its own studio in Hamburg. Ten of the tracks will appear on the regular album release, while the remaining two cuts will surface on various editions of the album.

"To The Metal" will be made available in four versions:

* As a regular jewel case CD
* As a limited edition featuring an additional DVD (including an exciting making-of)
* As a red vinyl in gatefold packaging
* as a collectors' edition featuring CD and 7" vinyl with two unreleased tracks, hand-signed

The cover artwork was designed by Herve Monjeaud.

"To The Metal" track listing:

01. Rise
02. Deadlands
03. Mother Angel
04. No Need To Cry
05. Empathy
06. To The Metal
07. All You Need To Know
08. Time To Live
09. Shine Forever
10. Breaking Away

DVD (included in limited-edition version):

* 60-minute documentary shot in HD, featuring interviews, "making-of-the-album" material, performance footage of classic GAMMA RAY songs.

Bonus material:

* Three video clips (including "To The Metal")
* Full unedited interview with Kai Hansen

According to a press release, the new GAMMA RAY CD is "classy, fast-paced and deep, and holds a few surprises in store which distinguish the band from the mass of acts who try their hand at similar styles and sounds. . . The band's stylistic range [includes] a full-throttle number such as 'Rise', the rhythmic and melodically diverse 'Time To Live', and the multilayered anthem 'All You Need To Know' (which has given rise to speculation about a spectacular guest singer), as well as the sensitive ballad 'No Need To Cry', composer/lyricist Dirk Schlächter's attempt to come to terms with the untimely death of his father. Of course, there's also the awesome title track — first introduced at the Wacken Open Air 2009 and a number of festivals in Scandinavia (see video below) and considered absolutely indispensible by the fans, which GAMMA RAY recorded as a classic metal track in the midtempo range, making it a real anthem. The atmospherically dense 'Empathy' sees GAMMA RAY prove their amazing musical potential again, which keeps manifesting itself in exceptional and eminently interesting compositions. This song includes all the features of a diverse, exciting and multi-faceted number, in other words: sweeping sounds, cool grooves, a progressive touch and then — almost as if from nowhere — a chorus which seriously bowls you over. Subsequently, the band soar up to an almost oriental-sounding solo part, changing key several times within the track."

GAMMA RAY will present its new material for the first time when it hits the road on February 6 as part of an extensive European tour with support from FREEDOM CALL and SECRET SPHERE.

Limited-edition CD+DVD:

Red vinyl:

Regular jewelcase:


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).