GAMMA RAY In Milan: Photos, Video Footage Available

Video footage of GAMMA RAY performing a cover version of HELLOWEEN's "I Want Out" on February 16, 2010 in Milan, Italy can be viewed below.

Photos of the sold-out show at Magazzini Generali are available on Musica Metal.

GAMMA RAY's setlist was as follows:

01. Welcome
02. Gardens Of The Sinner
03. Empathy
04. Deadlands
05. Fight
06. Mother Angel
07. The Saviour
08. Abyss Of The Void
09. Drum Solo
10. Armageddon
11. To The Metal
12. No Need To Cry
13. Rebellion In Dreamland
14. Man On A Mission
15. New World Order
16. I Want Out (HELLOWEEN cover)
17. Send Me A Sign

GAMMA RAY's new album, "To The Metal", was released on January 29 via earMUSIC/Edel.

GAMMA RAYKai Hansen (vocals/guitar), Dirk Schlächter (bass), Henjo Richter (guitar) and Daniel Zimmermann (drums) — recorded a total of twelve new songs last fall at teh band's own studio in Hamburg. Ten of the tracks appeared on the regular album release, while the remaining two cuts surfaced on various special editions of the album. The cover artwork was designed by Herve Monjeaud.

According to a press release, the new GAMMA RAY CD is "classy, fast-paced and deep, and holds a few surprises in store which distinguish the band from the mass of acts who try their hand at similar styles and sounds. . . The band's stylistic range [includes] a full-throttle number such as 'Rise', the rhythmic and melodically diverse 'Time To Live', and the multilayered anthem 'All You Need To Know' (which has given rise to speculation about a spectacular guest singer), as well as the sensitive ballad 'No Need To Cry', composer/lyricist Dirk Schlächter's attempt to come to terms with the untimely death of his father. Of course, there's also the awesome title track — first introduced at the Wacken Open Air 2009 and a number of festivals in Scandinavia (see video below) and considered absolutely indispensible by the fans, which GAMMA RAY recorded as a classic metal track in the midtempo range, making it a real anthem. The atmospherically dense 'Empathy' sees GAMMA RAY prove their amazing musical potential again, which keeps manifesting itself in exceptional and eminently interesting compositions. This song includes all the features of a diverse, exciting and multi-faceted number, in other words: sweeping sounds, cool grooves, a progressive touch and then — almost as if from nowhere — a chorus which seriously bowls you over. Subsequently, the band soar up to an almost oriental-sounding solo part, changing key several times within the track."


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).