Former XYSMA, CALLISTO Members Launch Progressive Pop Project UHRIJUHLA

Finnish supergroup UHRIJUHLA will release its self-titled debut album on December 7 through Svart Records. Featuring members of XYSMA and CALLISTO, UHRIJULHA's full-length CD follows a seven-inch single release and two videos.

Even though the band themselves would shun the description, there are enough reasons to call UHRIJUHLA a "supergroup." Male vocalist Janitor Muurinen is best known from XYSMA, the world's most criminally underrated death metal group, and guitarist Markus Myllykangas is the leading member of post-metal band CALLISTO. Female vocalist Olga is a successful solo artist in her own right. Most of the music and all of the lyrics are written by Kauko Röyhkä, one of the most respected Finnish singer-songwriters, with a 30-year career and a few dozen albums under his belt.

UHRIJUHLA ("Sacrificial Feast" in English — although the name is inspired by the cult classic movie "The Wicker Man", which is called "Uhrijuhla" in Finland) came together three years ago with the purpose of playing a new kind of progressive rock — partially homage to the grand masters from the '70s but also influenced by modern progressive pop such as PORTISHEAD and MASSIVE ATTACK. After a few fruitless attempts to get the band going, CALLISTO guitarist Myllykangas joined the fold in 2012 and suddendly everything just clicked. The eponymous album was recorded in the springtime and finished in September. The result is a multi-faceted, lush, and adventurous progressive vintage pop album with moods ranging from HAWKWIND-style guitar psychedelia to Linda Perhacs-like introspection.

Svart Records, having already worked with both XYSMA and CALLISTO, snapped the new band up quickly. The debut seven-inch single and music video, "Liian Kaukana", appeared in October and the second video, "Avaruuden Lapsi", in November. The band is now gearing up to play live dates with such acts as HEXVESSEL and SAMMAL and is already writing new material.

Story continues after advertisement

"Uhrijuhla" track listing:

01. Avaruuden Lapsi
02. Se Minkä Maa Voi Antaa
03. Kotona
04. Liian Kaukana
05. Kevään Airut
06. Maaliskuun Yössä
07. Yökello
08. Pikimusta Tähtikirkas Yö
09. Tunturit


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).