Former WHITESNAKE Guitarist MICKY MOODY Talks SNAKECHARMER In New Audio Interview

Jorge Fretes of Spain's recently conducted an interview with former WHITESNAKE and current SNAKECHARMER guitarist Micky Moody. You can now listen to the chat in the YouTube clip below.

SNAKECHARMER's self-titled debut album was released in North America on January 22 (three dates later in Europe) via Frontiers Records.

Formed in 2011 by former WHITESNAKE members Micky Moody and Neil Murray, SNAKECHARMER also includes Chris Ousey (HEARTLAND), Laurie Wisefield (ex-WISHBONE ASH, TINA TURNER), Adam Wakeman (OZZY OSBOURNE) and Harry James (THUNDER). With members gigging record breaking tours, earning double-platinum-selling albums and playing to crowds of 100,000.

"I met up with Neil Murray a couple of years ago and we spoke about playing a few gigs together for fun and old times' sake," says Micky Moody. "The obvious choice was early WHITESNAKE material, so when Neil suggested Laurie Wisefield and Harry James, I jumped at it. Chris Ousey was highly recommended and Adam had depped for COMPANY OF SNAKES some years back. We went out as MONSTERS OF BRITISH ROCK mostly performing the songs of early WHITESNAKE, THUNDER, HEARTLANDS and a Laurie Wisefield original and we caught the attention of Martin Darvill, head of QEDG Management, who suggested we record an album of original material, which we did. The result is SNAKECHARMER on the Frontiers label."

Story continues after advertisement

Musically, this debut album is everything you would expect from musicians with such a pedigree: a finely crafted hard rock album with blues and melodic overtones, akin to WHITESNAKE (1979-'81 era), BAD COMPANY and with hints of early FOREIGNER as well.

"The songs on our debut album reflect the kind of music that the members of the band want to play, which is melodic rock with a blues influence," says Neil Murray. "Each of us has played many different styles of music, and our influences are varied, but SNAKECHARME originally came together to play mainly early WHITESNAKE songs, so that is our starting point. There wasn't a deliberate plan to write songs in a particular style; each song on the album started as a basic idea by one or two band members, and if the other guys were enthusiastic about the idea, then the song would be worked up into a finished song."

"Snakecharmer" track listing:

01. My Angel
02. Accident Prone
03. To The Rescue
04. Falling Leaves
05. A Little Rock & Roll
06. Turn Of The Screw
07. Smoking Gun
08. Stand Up
09. Guilty As Charged
10. Nothing To Lose
11. Cover Me In You
12. White Boy Blues *

* bonus track


Chris Ousey - Lead Vocals
Micky Moody - Guitar, Slide Guitar, Vocals
Laurie Wisefield - Guitar, Vocals
Adam Wakeman - Keyboards, Vocals
Neil Murray - Bass
Harry James - Drums, Vocals


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).