Former FREHLEY'S COMET Member TOD HOWARTH Reveals New Solo CD Details

Former FREHLEY'S COMET member Tod Howarth has set "Opposite Gods" as the title of his new solo album. Howarth says, "The title idea came from a conversation that my son and I had about the relentless misdirection of most all religions three years ago — but that story is for another time.

"I am currently in the process of mastering the basic 11 songs and finishing up the writing and recording of two specialty tunes that are not as involved as the rest of the songs in respect to recording so they will complete quickly.

"It is another truly solo CD effort as I've again played and sang everything with exception to my youngest daughter, Tara, lending a hand to some 'answer' vocal parts on one tune.

"The artwork is being finalized as well by my son Tommy, and I am working on the logo and photo idea presently.

"I do believe that this is some of my best work, lyrically, musically and a freakin' circus act of studio damage control, producer, engineer, mixer, artist, multi-hat-wearin' mofo in unbelievable makeshift studio squalor."

"Opposite Gods" will feature the following tracks (in no particular order):

* Tell Me
* On Your Own
* Change
* Drown
* Way Down South
* Veterans
* Opposite Gods
* Dancing Through the Pain
* The Artist
* Layne
* Jimbo's Bunk

Extra tracks:

* October Son
* [untitled]

According to Howarth, "There will be stories about the origin of each tune and, of course, lyrics posted to the new CD section of my sites soon."

If any labels are interested in releasing the CD, they can contact Tod at [email protected]

FREHLEY'S COMET recorded three albums, produced four videos before the lineup dissolved and Ace Frehley moved on to his solo effort. Tod continued writing and pursuing a solo record deal and received one from Gene Simmons in 1990. However this was short-lived because of the refreshing sounds of "grunge." Tod liked this new sound but also knew it was to change the face of music, and the direction of his career. After rejoining CHEAP TRICK in 1990, he helped support the continuing "Lap of Luxury" tour with the hit "The Flame". Tod played with CHEAP TRICK consistently until 1997 whereupon he went back at work on solo material. Since 2000 he has played with CHEAP TRICK in special live and TV shows and handled the keys, and backing vocals on the "Silver" DVD. In 2008 he traveled to Japan with CHEAP TRICK to once again handle the keys and vocals for the band's 30th-year anniversary concert, "Live at Budokan".


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).