Former ANTHRAX Singer Teams Up With LIFE OF AGONY, ARSIS Members

Former ANTHRAX and current BLACKGATES singer Dan Nelson has uploaded several songs that were recorded with a lineup of musicians that includes members of LIFE OF AGONY and ARSIS.

The tracks that are currently available for streaming are as follows:

* "Burden's Crown"
* "Troll"
* "You"
* "Task At Hand"
* "New Damnation"
* "New Found Noose"

Says Nelson: "This is not a band, but a bunch of songs written with some friends that we recorded in my garage studio."

Recording lineup:

* Dan Nelson (BLACKGATES, ex-ANTHRAX) - Vocals/Bass
* Joey Z. (LIFE OF AGONY) - Guitars/Drum Programming
* James Malone (ARSIS) - Guitars/Drum Programming
* Crock LaRock (AUNT HILDEGARD) - Drums

Regarding his split with ANTHRAX in July 2009, Nelson told The Metal Den, "I never live my life with any regrets and never look back and wish I did something different. I chose instead to look forward to the future. We did some great things in the time we wrote and performed together, and I am very proud of that."

Nelson's new band BLACKGATES also features drummer Paul Bostaph (TESTAMENT, ex-EXODUS, SLAYER, FORBIDDEN), guitarist Jeremy Epp (THE VENTING MACHINE) and bassist Uriah Duffy (WHITESNAKE). Dan previously stated about BLACKGATES's musical direction, "It's thrashy and heavy, so it will appeal to ANTHRAX and TESTAMENT fans. But has the groove and brutality of PANTERA, and is also very melodic. The guitarist is a kid from the Bay Area named Jeremy Epp, who's an unknown, but sensational. People are gonna love him."

According to Nelson, he has also been working on his own music on his home turf in Long Island, New York with his drummer of the last seven years from INSIDE HOLLOW, Frankie Apicelli. Dan said, "The project will be called CHILDE OF HALE. The music is very dark, ala BLACK SABBATH/THE DOORS meets something pissed off at everything! [I'm] stoked to get that into everyone's ears very soon as well."


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).