Florida's SOLSTICE: Classic Albums To Be Reissued With Remixed Version Of 'Pray'

The Florida-based death metal band SOLSTICE was formed in 1990 by guitarist Dennis Munoz and drummer Alex Marquez with vocalist/guitarist Rob Barrett. In 1991, they recorded a demo produced by legendary producer Jim Morris and signed a deal with Germany's SPV/Steamhammer and their debut album was released in 1992. It was originally to be titled "The Sentencing", but delays in correspondence led to it becoming simply known as "Solstice". The following year, internal issues, combined with Rob Barrett departing for a position in CANNIBAL CORPSE, forced the band into hiatus, but in 1995 they regrouped (adding guitarist/vocals Christian Rudes) and returned with the magnificent sophomore album, "Pray".

Both albums are considered classics in the death/thrash crossover genre because at that time few bands were pushing the limits like SOLSTICE. The band is currently active once again and in 2011 guitarist Dennis Munoz remixed "Pray" as an exclusive addition to this collector’s set.

Due on June 12 via Divebomb Records, "Pray For The Sentencing" contains a new interview with members of the band, both legendary albums in original form (remastered), plus the newly remixed version of "Pray" as well as the original Ed Repka cover illustration.

"Pray For The Sentencing" track listing:

Disc 1

"The Sentencing" (1992)

01. Transmogrified
02. Cleansed Of Impurity
03. Eternal Waking
04. Survival Reaction
05. S.M.D.
06. Netherworld
07. Plasticized
08. Cataclysmic Outburst
09. Aberration

"Pray" (1995)

10. The Unseen
11. Denial
12. Pray
13. All Life Lost
14. Freedom Denied
15. Close Minded Failure
16. Depression
17. Bleeding Unborn
18. One At A Time
19. Eyes See Red

Disc 2

"Pray" (2011 remix)

01. The Unseen
02. Denial
03. Pray
04. All Life Lost
05. Freedom Denied
06. Close Minded Failure
07. Depression


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).