EXIVIOUS Calls It Quits

Guitarist Tymon of the Dutch fusion metal act EXIVIOUS has released the following statement:

"For the first time since the release of our debut album back in May of 2009, I'm afraid we have to bring some really sad news.

"After careful consideration we decided to officially pull the plug on EXIVIOUS.

"It's not a secret that this band and the album we released last year are very dear to me personally, but also to the rest of the band who put in the best their talent and creativity had to offer to create something really unique. But besides our personal experience, we feel all of you out there who supported us the past year are part of our EXIVIOUS community as well and as such you guys deserve a proper explanation of what's happening.

"We're in a situation right now where we are simply unable to give EXIVIOUS the attention and love we believe it deserves. All four of us are completely consumed by other activities and it doesn't seem like this is going to change anytime soon. So instead of slowly letting our beloved band bleed to death, we rather put it to sleep ourselves.

"In retrospect, we were completely blown away by the overwhelmingly positive response from both our listeners but also the press who reviewed our album. Never did we expect to get such a warm and enthusiastic reaction to our crazy music. With this in mind we'd like to thank all of you who supported us by picking up a copy of our album in the past year!

"As most of you know, we started things off by offering a luxurious limited edition of which we only printed a thousand copies. We're happy to announce we're sold out! The digipack version of our album is still available through our website and a select group of retailers.

"Last but not least, we'd like to end this sad message with some good news.

"For the first time in EXIVIOUS history we're offering a t-shirt in our online shop which features the artwork of our debut album! Pre-orders are available at www.exivious.net."

A six-minute preview video for EXIVIOUS's forthcoming self-titled debut album can be viewed below.

"Exivious" track listing:

01. Ripple Of A Tear
02. Time And Its Changes
03. Asurim
04. All That Surrounds Pt. 1
05. Waves Of Thought
06. The Path
07. All That Surrounds Pt. 2
08. Embrace The Unknown (feat. Paul Masvidal of CYNIC)
09. An Elusive Need


Tymon (CYNIC) - Guitar
Michel Nienhuis (ex-SENGAIA) - Guitar
Robin Zielhorst (CYNIC, ex-BLUE MAN GROUP) - Bass
Stef Broks (TEXTURES) - Drums


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).