Ex-NIGHTWISH Singer Talks To Brazilian TV About 'My Winter Storm'; Video Available

Former NIGHTWISH singer Tarja Turunen was recently interviewed by the Brazilian show "PlayZone" on PlayTV about her forthcoming solo album, "My Winter Storm". Watch the three-minute clip below.

As previously reported, Tarja Turunen's new single, "I Walk Alone", entered the German chart at position No. 16.

Turunen will perform "I Walk Alone" on November 30 at the farewell fight of the German female boxing champion (and Doro Pesch's close friend) Regina Halmich. The event will take place at the DM Arena in Karlsruhe, Germany.

Tarja's new solo album, "My Winter Storm", will be released as an extremely limited double-LP version (only 300 copies available worldwide) on December 17 via Britain's What Records.

To order a copy, click here.

A 30-second audio sample of Tarja Turunen's cover version of the ALICE COOPER smash "Poison" is available for streaming at this location. The song, which will appear on "My Winter Storm", was laid down at the same studio where the original track was recorded — The Village Recorder (a.k.a. The Village) in Los Angeles, California.

"My Winter Storm" will be released on the following dates:

Nov. 14 - Finland
Nov. 16 - Germany, Switzerland, Austria
Nov. 17 - Australia
Nov. 19 - Iceland, Netherlands, UK, France, Malaysia, Russia, New Zealand, Spain, Belgium, Czech Republic, Slovakia, Hungary, Norway, Portugal, Central America, Denmark
Nov. 20 - Canada
Nov. 21 - Sweden, Israel
Nov. 25 - Argentina

The cover artwork for "My Winter Storm" has been posted online at this location. The CD was produced by Daniel Presley (FAITH NO MORE, JEWEL, THE BREEDERS), who has been joined in the studio by a truly stellar line-up of musicians: Doug Wimbish on bass (LIVING COLOUR, ANNIE LENNOX, JOE SATRIANI, JEFF BECK, MADONNA, ROLLING STONES), Alex Scholpp on electric guitars (FARMER BOYS) and Earl Harvin on drums (SEAL, PET SHOP BOYS, AIR), a player personally selected by Tarja after she saw him stealing the show at a SEAL concert. Keyboards and programming, meanwhile, are being provided by Torsten Stenzel, whose previous credits include NELLY FURTADO, MOBY, TINA TURNER, VANESSA MAE and more.

"My Winter Storm" track listing:

01. My Winter Storm
02. I Walk Alone
03. Oasis
04. Lost Northern Star
05. The Seer
06. Damned And Divine
07. Sing For Me
08. Calling Grace
09. Boy and the Ghost
10. Minor Heaven
11. The Reign
12. Ciarán's Well
13. Poison (ALICE COOPER cover)

For more "My Winter Storm" samples, click here.


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends). To report any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, please send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details.