Ex-NIGHTWISH Singer Says She Hasn't Seen or Approved Any Footage For Upcoming DVD

Former NIGHTWISH frontwoman Tarja Turunen has commented on the band's plans to release the much-anticipated "End of an Era" live CD/DVD package containing recordings/footage of her final concert with the group, which took place on October 21, 2005 at the Hartwall arena in Helsinki, Finland. In addition to the live footage, the DVD - which is due on June 2 - will include a slideshow of pictures from the Hartwall show and a 55-minute documentary, "A Day Before Tomorrow", featuring behind-the-scenes footage of the band in the 15 days prior to the Hartwall Show. The documentary was edited by Timo Halo, who also edited and directed the "From Wishes To Eternity - Deleted Scenes" and "End of Innocence" movies that were released on previous NIGHTWISH DVDs.

It was previously announced via NIGHTWISH's official web site that due to contractual reasons (namely a dispute with Turunun's manager/husband Marcelo Cabuli over the terms of Tarja's split from the group), the CD/DVD would apparently only be released in mainland Europe and would not be issued in the group's home country.

In a posting on her official web site, Turunen said, "At the moment I am expecting the issue of NIGHTWISH live DVD to be solved. I really think that the concert was great and is also my last chance to thank the fans. So far, I haven't received any material of the forthcoming live DVD: this means I haven't until today seen any of the images or heard any of the audio. I am getting the information the same way [as] you dear fans; from the NIGHTWISH webpage. I just saw the proposed cover that nobody asked if I agree with it. They have announced a name that nobody discussed with me. Seems that they have planned a documentary to be included in the DVD. I didn't take part [in it], because nobody informed me about it. I would have loved to do it.

"It just seems a bit weird for me that I need to beg on my knees to get the information from the band. I am singing on that recording and from my opinion, I have the right to see it before the DVD is released! So let's hope that everybody of us will do things in an honest and proper way. Let's hope we all can enjoy a worldwide DVD release soon!!"

"End of an Era" track listing:

01. Dark Chest Of Wonders
02. Planet Hell
03. Ever Dream
04. Kinslayer
05. Phantom Of The Opera
06. The Siren
07. Sleeping Sun
08. High Hopes
09. Bless The Child
10. Wishmaster
11. Slaying The Dreamer
12. Kuolema Tekee Taiteilijan
13. Nemo
14. Ghost Love Score
15. Stone People
16. Creek Mary's Blood
17. Over The Hills and Far Away
18. Wish I Had an Angel

NIGHTWISH fired Turunen via an "open letter," which was given to the singer immediately following the Helsinki show. The group are currently seeking a replacement vocalist before entering the studio in September 2006 to begin recording the follow-up to 2004's "Once", tentatively due in mid-2007.


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).