EVERY TIME I DIE: 'The Big Dirty' Artwork Revealed

The cover artwork for EVERY TIME I DIE's new album, "The Big Dirty", has been posted at this location. Due on September 4 via Ferret Music, the LP was produced by Steve Evetts and is "the CD you would compile if asked to make a mix of the best EVERY TIME I DIE songs you haven't heard yet," the band writes in the press release. "Ten-plus tracks that tore from our filthy hands like the creature that jumped out of that dudes stomach in 'Alien'. If this ain't your favorite heavy release of the year, I'll eat my damn hat."

"The Big Dirty" track listing:

01. No Son of Mine
02. Pigs Is Pigs
03. Leatherneck
04. Werewolf
05. Rebel Without Applause
06. Cities and Years
07. Rendez-Voodoo
08. A Gentlemans Sport
09. Inrihab
10. Depressionista
11. Buffalo Gals
12. Imitation is the Sincerest Form of Battery

The track "Imitation is the Sincerest Form of Battery" has been posted online at the band's MySpace page.

Though slotted as the final song on EVERY TIME I DIE's new CD, there is no track as indicative of the entire record as "Imitation is the Sincerest Form of Battery", according to a press release. Lyrically based on Federico Fellini's "8 1/2", this song "has everything that the band has become notorious for wrapped into one two-minute-and-thirty-second keg stand of ass-kicking fuck-all. From the scathing self-indictment of the lyrics, through the involuntary tweak-out inducing riffs, all the way to the no permanent bass playerness of the band itself, 'Imitation is the Sincerest Form of Battery' is what EVERY TIME I DIE does best — not give a shit about what you expect from them. If there was a middle finger that had a sharp point at the end and was about six feet in height, this song would take that finger like a flagpole, tie a flag to the end of it that had another middle finger on it (but smaller, obviously and not necessarily the same middle finger) and stick it in the uncharted terrain of brazen self-awareness — a paradise which countless other bands have tried to recreate on stage, but failed at miserably."

EVERY TIME I DIE is taking part in the third edition of the Sounds of the Underground tour, which also features GWAR, CHIMAIRA, NECRO and JOB FOR A COWBOY, among others.

The 25-city North American trek kicked off Friday (July 6) at the Palladium Ballroom in Dallas and wraps Aug. 8 at the Fillmore Auditorium in Denver. Other acts include DARKEST HOUR, AMON AMARTH, THE ACACIA STRAIN, HEAVY HEAVY LOW LOW, THE NUMBER TWELVE LOOKS LIKE YOU, DEVIL WEARS PRADA and GOATWHORE.


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).