EPISODE 13: New Album Available For Free Download

October 3 sees the release of "Death Reclaims The Earth" by black metallers EPISODE 13, on Norway's Misantrof ANTIRecords label. The seven- track album is the third full-length release from EPISODE 13, and, as with all releases on Misantrof, is available for free download at this location. The LP's cover art for was created by the U.S. artists Seraph and Splendor, who specialise in portraying darker, more sinister subjects, and who have used blood to create the eerie image for the album.

"Death Reclaims The Earth" track listing:

01. Ars Moriendi
02. Physical Comatose & Mental Overdose
03. Unmensch
04. Ignorance Is Bliss
05. Ultimate Sterilization
06. Worthless
07. Spread His Word

Founded in 2001 by frontman Ozan Aklol, guitarist Murat and drummer Nursuz (ZIFIR), and with a lineup that also includes Serkan Zengin on guitars and Sermet Durusan on bass, EPISODE 13 is one of only a very small handful of Turkish bands of any genre, let alone black metal, that has not only gained acceptance, but also found a large audience, outside of its own country. The band regularly appears at festivals such as Norway's Inferno and London's Infernal Damnation, and has tours in Russia, Finland and Denmark already under its belt.

Regarding the decision to sign with Misantrof, the label headed by CARPATHIAN FOREST bassist Daniel Vrangsinn which offers all its releases for free download and allows all the artists themselves to retain complete control of all aspects of their work, as opposed to signing with one of the mainstream labels, drummer Nursuz had this to say: "'Death Reclaims The Earth' very much defines the direction EPISODE 13 is taking, and we wanted to get it released as quickly as possible. We already have a lot of new music we are working on, and we didn't want to find ourselves in limbo while we waited to release and promote 'Death Reclaims the Earth'. Our manager Patricia Thomas also manages Vrangsinn, and she had introduced us to him when we were playing in Oslo, so we asked her to send him the album to get his opinion. All the other offers we had gave us vague dates such as 'sometime late this year or early next year,' but Vrangsinn heard the album and straight away said 'name the date you want it released.' CARPATHIAN FOREST is a band that has been inspirational to the formation of a whole generation of black metal bands and the chance to work with Vrangsinn, who we have admired as a musician and producer since we started out, was really too good an opportunity to turn down."

For more information, visit www.myspace.com/episode13.


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).