ENSIFERUM: New Album Title, Track Listing Revealed

Finnish folk metallers ENSIFERUM have set "From Afar" as the title of their fourth album, due on September 9 via Spinefarm Records. The CD was produced by Tero Kinnunen (NIGHTWISH, AMORPHIS) and Janne Joutsenniemi ('Victory Songs' producer) and was mixed by Hiili Hiilesmaa (HIM, SENTENCED, AMORPHIS).

The track listing for the CD is as follows:

01. By The Dividing Stream
02. From Afar
03. Twilight Tavern
04. Heathen Throne
05. Elusive Reaches
06. Stone Cold Metal
07. Smoking Ruins
08. Tumman Virran Taa
09. The Longest Journey (Heathen Throne Part II)
10. Vandraren (limited-edition bonus track; NORDMAN cover)

As previously reported, ENSIFERUM will embark on a European headlining tour in October. Support on the trek will come from METSATOLL and TRACEDAWN.

Story continues after advertisement

ENSIFERUM had its first two albums made officially available in the U.K. for the very first time. The records in question — "Ensiferum" (2001) and "Iron" (2004) — were released on March 30 via Spinefarm Records. Both albums come with bonus material.

After entering the studio for the first time in the latter part of the '90s, ENSIFERUM has been constantly sharpening its sound, dispensing epic music heavy in both atmosphere and attack, with its most recent "Victory Songs" opus (reissued in the U.K. last year as a two-CD set with the "Dragonheads" EP) taking "folk/viking melodic metal" to a whole new level of grandeur.


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).