DUFF MCKAGAN'S LOADED: 'The Taking' Cover Artwork Unveiled; New Songs Streaming

DUFF MCKAGAN'S LOADED — the band led by VELVET REVOLVER/ex-GUNS N' ROSES bassist Duff McKagan — will release its new album, "The Taking", on April 19 via Eagle Rock Entertainment. The CD was recorded at a Seattle-area studio with veteran rock producer Terry Date (SOUNDGARDEN, PANTERA, DEFTONES). Two tracks from "The Taking", both available on all digital service providers, are already making a splash with the public. Anthemic rocker "We Win" was played during the World Series and riled up football fans for McKagan's hometown Seattle Seahawks. "Fight On" draws inspiration from our military veterans, and proceeds from these downloads go exclusively to the Puget Sound Healthcare System.

"The Taking" cover artwork can be viewed below. Also available are audio streams of three songs from the CD — "Cocaine", "We Win" and "Dead Skin".

"The Taking" track listing:

01. Lords Of Abaddon
02. Executioner's Song
03. Dead Skin
04. We Win
05. Easier Lying
06. She's An Anchor
07. Wrecking Ball
08. King Of The World
09. Cocaine
10. Your Name
11. Follow Me To Hell

Story continues after advertisement

Regarding the band's split with Century Media Records, which released one EP (2008's "Wasted Heart") and one full-length album (2009's "Sick") from DUFF MCKAGAN'S LOADED, guitarist Mike Squires told the Oregon Music News, "A lot of things happened there. We felt that we made a great album and we had a good relationship with them. In the end things just didn't work out. Collectively, we missed the mark on a number of things and the record didn't get a fair shot. We thought that 'Sick' could have done very well, but it didn't get a shot. There were just so many missed opportunities. With the release of 'The Taking' I think people will get some awareness and go back and give 'Sick' a look."

A trailer for the upcoming feature-length film about Duff McKagan and LOADED can be viewed below. The movie is based on "The Taking" and is being helmed by Seattle filmmaker and documentarian Jamie Burton Chamberlin.

Eagle Rock Entertainment will re-release DUFF MCKAGAN'S LOADED's 2009 album "Sick" in May. This special reissue of the CD also packs a bonus DVD, featuring 11 tracks from a live set at The Garage in Glasgow filmed in December 2008.

"Cocaine" audio stream:

"We Win" audio stream:

"Dead Skin" audio stream:

Photo credit: Daniel Zetterstrom


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).