DUFF MCKAGAN'S LOADED: Another Song Posted Online

VELVET REVOLVER bassist Duff McKagan's side band, DUFF MCKAGAN'S LOADED, has posted another new song, "Sleaze Factory", on the group's MySpace page. The track comes off the band's new full-length album, "Sick", which is scheduled for release in North America on April 7 via Century Media Records. An e-card for the CD, which was produced by Martin Feveyear (PRESIDENTS OF THE UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, KINGS OF LEON), is available at this location.

In addition to McKagan, LOADED features drummer Geoff Reading (GREEN APPLE QUICK STEP), bassist Jeff Rouse (VENDETTA RED, ALIEN CRIME SYNDICATE) and guitarist Mike Squires (ALIEN CRIME SYNDICATE).

LOADED isn't a band merely to fill in time, to allow the famed bassist to massage a hyper publicity drive. This is all about…music.

"When this band started in 1998, I was at college studying business," recalls McKagan, who plays guitar and sings with the group. "But I was sickened by all the crap music going around at the time. Seriously, I hated all these big bands who were coming through. So, I put together LOADED to play rock music the way I wanted to do it. We had no great game plan or philosophy. We just wanted to get into the rehearsal room, begin writing songs and play music we felt."

Of LOADED's current lineup, McKagan says, "It's not as if I bumped into all of them on the street and things happened by accident. I saw Geoff Reading play drums with GREEN APPLE QUICKSTEP (a cult mid-1990s Seattle band) and he was just an animal behind the kit. I knew then that I wanted to work with him at some point. I watched Mike Squires and Jeff Rouse (guitar and bass, respectively) with their band ALIEN CRIME SYNDICATE, and again they really impressed me.

"It's not that I've taken these guys out of other bands, either. It's not like that in Seattle. Good musicians tend to play in more than one band. And our producer, Martin Feveyear, is also part of the band in many respects. He's also our tour manager and our live sound engineer! It's the Seattle way. A small-town mentality.”

LOADED released "Live Episode" (1999) and "Dark Days" (2001), before other commitments meant LOADED were put on the back burner to some extent, although they never split up.

"No way!" Duff says. "We've been playing Christmas charity shows in Seattle on an annual basis over the last few years. These have been growing in popularity as well. Then last Christmas, we started to talk seriously about doing a record, which is what has led us to this place. Now, I've been stockpiling songs for LOADED all the time. I'd write something and store it away for future use, so the idea of doing a new album has always been in my mind."

"Sick" track listing:

01. Sick
02. Sleaze Factory
03. Flatline
04. IOU
05. The Slide
06. Translucent
07. Mothers Day
08. I See Through You
09. Forgive Me
10. No Shame
11. Blind Date Girl
12. Wasted Heart
13. No More

DUFF MCKAGAN'S LOADED's latest five-song EP, "Wasted Heart", was released in September 2008 via Century Media Records.

DUFF MCKAGAN'S LOADED will support MÖTLEY CRÜE on several European shows this summer.


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).