DUFF MCKAGAN Joins GUNS N' ROSES On Stage In London!

Former GUNS N' ROSES bassist Duff McKagan joined the band's current lineup on stage earlier tonight (Thursday, October 14) at London, England's O2 arena to perform four songs: "You Could Be Mine", "Nice Boys" (ROSE TATTOO cover), "Knockin' On Heaven's Door" (BOB DYLAN cover) and "Patience". This marked the first time since 1993 that McKagan and singer Axl Rose shared a concert stage.

The first photos of this historic event can be found below (all pictures courtesy of GUNS N' ROSES and Sebastian Bach via Twitter). Also available is low-quality fan-filmed video footage of the reunion.

The band's setlist was as follows:

01. Intro
02. Chinese Democracy
03. It's So Easy
04. Mr. Brownstone
05. Sorry
06. Shackler's Revenge
07. Richard Fortus Solo
08. Live And Let Die
09. Instrumental Jam
10. This I Love
11. Better
12. Rocket Queen
13. Dizzy Reed Solo
14. Street Of Dreams
15. You Could Be Mine (w/ Duff McKagan on bass)
16. The Ballad Of Death
17. Sweet Child O'Mine
18. Another Brick In The Wall (Part II)
19. Axl Piano Solo
20. November Rain
21. Bumblefoot Solo
22. I.R.S.
23. Nice Boys (w/ Duff McKagan on guitar)
24. Knocking On Heaven's Door (w/ Duff McKagan on guitar)
25. Nightrain


26. Don't Cry
27. Madagascar
28. Patience (w/ Duff McKagan on tambourine)
29. Whole Lotta Rosie
30. Waiting On A Friend (jam)
31. Paradise City

According to Rock Radio, Rose claimed tonight's reunion came about by accident because he and McKagan happened to be staying at the same hotel. He told the crowd: "There was this guy at the end of my hallway playing all this loud music and shit. What the fuck? Oh — it's Duff!"

Original GN'R guitarist Izzy Stradlin jammed with the current version of GUNS N' ROSES at a number of shows in 2006.

In a 2009 interview with AskMen.com, Duff was asked what he thought of GUNS N' ROSES' latest album, "Chinese Democracy", which was released in November 2008 as a Best Buy exclusive, 17 years after the last all-original GUNS sets, "Use Your Illusion I" and "II". "It's funny; so many people have asked me that question and I gotta figure out why people think my opinion matters," Duff replied. "I think Axl did a great job on that record and other than that, the songs and the band are a completely different thing, so for me to really comment on the band, I might as well be commenting on the new SLIPKNOT record. It's that far removed from me."

He continued, "We [GUNS] made our last record in '92 or '93 or something — that was 16 years ago. That was a lifetime ago for me. I was still using and stuff back then. So, that's how long ago it was for me." He then added, "It's ['Chinese Democracy'] great. There are songs on it that I like and there are songs on it that I don't like, just like any other record."

During a 2009 interview with Billboard, Rose insisted that he will never share a stage with former GN'R guitarist Slash again. "One of the two of us will die before a reunion," Rose said. "However sad, ugly or unfortunate anyone views it, it is how it is." He also said, "I could see doing a song or so on the side with Izzy or having him out [on tour] again. I'm not so comfortable with doing anything having more than one of the alumni. Maybe something with Duff, but that's it."

Last year McKagan told Rolling Stone magazine that he's open to the idea of working with Rose again. "I'm not going to be one of those guys who's like 'fuck that, that'll never happen.' he said. "It could very well happen. I love Axl. We've been through a lot of shit together that nobody can take that away from us."

In addition to Rose, the current lineup of GUNS N' ROSES includes guitarists DJ Ashba, Ron Thal and Richard Fortus, bassist Tommy Stinson, keyboardists Dizzy Reed and Chris Pitman and drummer Frank Ferrer.

"Chinese Democracy" was a commercial disappointment, selling less than one million copies in the U.S. (according to Nielsen SoundScan) despite the long wait.

Photos below courtesy of GUNS N' ROSES and Sebastian Bach (via Twitter).


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends). To report any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, please send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details.