DREAM THEATER Members Talk About 'The Spirit Carries On' Documentary (Video)

When DREAM THEATER's new studio album, "A Dramatic Turn Of Events", is released on September 13 via Roadrunner Records, the deluxe edition will include a documentary, "The Spirit Carries On", exploring the process by which new drummer Mike Mangini was chosen to replace Mike Portnoy.

In the clip below, the DREAM THEATER bandmembers talk about the process of making that documentary, and how they felt about having cameras around throughout the entire arduous audition process.

In a recent interview with Radio Metal, DREAM THEATER guitarist John Petrucci stated about "The Spirit Carries On", "The idea [to make the documentary] was that we knew it was going to be a very special event, trying all these different drummers. We knew that we wanted to have a way that we could watch everything back. Initially, we just thought we wanted to record it. But when we talked to our manager and record label, they thought it was kind of an exciting idea to record it professionally. We did that, and it went forward from there."

When asked if he thought the documentary has made it easier for the fans to accept DREAM THEATER's new drummer, Petrucci said, "I think so, yeah. That was part of the reason why we were doing it. We thought to ourselves, 'It's kinda cool that people will get to see why we made that decision and what was the process behind it.' I think it does make people a little bit more accepting to see that. Because it's not just like we tell people, 'Here it is, take it or leave it.' You get to see the process, and it makes a lot of sense, you know?! I think any logical person would say, 'Oh, I would have done the same thing.'"

Story continues after advertisement

The "A Dramatic Turn Of Events" deluxe collector's edition exclusive pre-order box set includes the following:

* "A Dramatic Turn Of Events" album
* Instrumentals of the entire album
* DVD of "The Spirit Carries On" a 60-minute movie documenting DREAM THEATER's drummer auditions
* Double-LP set of "A Dramatic Turn Of Events" (180-gram vinyl in gatefold jacket)
* DREAM THEATER branded custom turntable slipmat
* Litho Print of album cover
* 50 lucky winners will find a DREAM THEATER "Ticket For Life" (randomly inserted)
* All content housed in a custom box
* Receive a digital download of the album the day before release


01. On The Backs Of Angels
02. Build Me Up, Break Me Down
03. Lost Not Forgotten
04. This Is The Life
05. Bridges In The Sky
06. Outcry
07. Far From Heaven
08. Breaking All Illusions
09. Beneath The Surface

CD 2

01. On The Backs Of Angels (instrumental)
02. Build Me Up, Break Me Down (instrumental)
03. Lost Not Forgotten (instrumental)
04. This Is The Life (instrumental)
05. Bridges In The Sky (instrumental)
06. Outcry (instrumental)
07. Far From Heaven (instrumental)
08. Breaking All Illusions (instrumental)
09. Beneath The Surface (instrumental)

You can now pre-order this set at this location.


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).