DREAM EVIL Part Ways With Singer And Bassist, Announce Replacements

Vocalist Niklas Isfeldt and bassist Peter Stålfors have officially left DREAM EVIL, the Swedish band featuring acclaimed producer Fredrik Nordström (HAMMERFALL, IN FLAMES, DIMMU BORGIR, SPIRITUAL BEGGARS, etc.) and drummer Snowy Shaw (KING DIAMOND, MERCYFUL FATE, MEMENTO MORI, NOTRE DAME). Peter and Niklas' statement on the matter reads as follows:

"Because of personal issues and the fact that Niklas has problems with constantly recurring health problems, we have taken the painful decision to leave the band.

"All our friends are telling us that it's a bad idea to leave the band now when it's starting to get big, but you may come to a point in your life where you have to make a choice. We have now come to this point in our lives and the choice we have made is to put more time into our families and work.

"We've known for a long time that the bigger DREAM EVIL becomes, the more time it will take from the other important things in our lives, and in time it was inevitable to make a decision. Therefore, we have decided to leave Dream Evil.

"There are no hard feelings between us and the other guys in DREAM EVIL. We're still the best of friends and they totally understand the position we are in.

"So it is with the best confidence we now pass over the mantle to the new members Jake E Berg and Tommy Larsson [bass; ex-JAGGERNAUT, CHASTISEMENT]. They have our blessings and we are confident they will fill our shoes just perfectly and leave nothing for the fans to be desired.

"We wish to thank all fans for the support through the years and for making the time in DREAM EVIL a memory for life."

DREAM EVIL's latest CD, "The Book Of Heavy Metal", was released last year through Century Media Records. The follow-up to 2003's "Evilized", "The Book Of Heavy Metal" was recorded at Studio Fredman in Gothenburg, Sweden and features special guest appearances by ex-YNGWIE MALMSTEEN keyboardist Mats Olausson (on the songs "Into The Moonlight", "Crusaders' Anthem", "Chosen Twice" and "Unbreakable Chain") and HALFORD/PAINMUSEUM guitarist "Metal" Mike Chlasciak.


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).