DEMON HUNTER Members Talk About Making Of 'The World Is A Thorn' In New SOLID STATE Podcast

The new DEMON HUNTER edition of the Solid State Podcast in which the Seattle-based Christian metallers discuss the writing and recording of their new album, "The World Is A Thorn", and the development and meanings of the third three tracks from the record — "Tie This Around Your Neck", "Just Breathe" and "Shallow Water" — can be streamed using the audio player below.

"The World Is A Thorn" is scheduled for release on March 9. The band's fifth album follows the landmark documentary "45 Days", last year's "Live In Nashville" collection and a catalog of landmark releases that have made the band one of the most important in the genre.

"The World Is A Thorn" was produced by the band's longtime collaborator Aaron Sprinkle (ACCEPTANCE, ANBERLIN, THE ALMOST) and mixed by powerhouse producer Jason Suecof (ALL THAT REMAINS, TRIVIUM). It's a pairing emblematic of how skillfully DEMON HUNTER has always blended metallic might with melody.

"The World Is A Thorn" track listing:

01. Descending Upon Us
02. LifeWar
03. Collapsing
04. This Is The Line
05. Driving Nails
06. The World Is A Thorn
07. Tie This Around Your Neck
08. Just Breathe
09. Shallow Water
10. Feel As Though You Could
11. Blood In The Tears

The song "The World Is A Thorn" is available for streaming on the band's MySpace page.

The deluxe-edition box includes:

* CD with two exclusive bonus tracks
* DVD featuring the making of "The World Is A Thorn", and a live acoustic set
* 20-page booklet with exclusive artwork, photos, and handwritten lyrics
* Two fold-out posters featuring original artwork by metal visionary Dan Seagrave
* Three photo cards
* DEMON HUNTER handkerchief
* Set of four buttons
* Sticker

It's a well-worn cliche these days for a band to say their new album is "our heaviest but also our most melodic," but DEMON HUNTER delivers in spades with this release. Songs like "Descending Upon Us", "Lifewar" and the title track are by far the most aggressive of the band's career; "This is the Line" and "Collapsing" are a couple of the fist-pumping but still hard-driving anthems; and "Driving Nails" is one of two ballads on the album the likes of which their fans have come to both expect and cherish.

The album formally introduces guitarists Patrick Judge (who joined the band as a touring guitarist in 2008 and is now a full-time member) and Ryan Helm (of THE ASCENDICATE) with a new batch of songs written by co-founder and vocalist Ryan Clark. Yogi Watts returns with another jaw-dropping drum performance, backed up by longtime bass player Jonathan Dunn.

"The World Is A Thorn" is a definitive mission statement from a band at a creative apex, firing on all cylinders with awe-inspiring intensity.

"The album title refers to the often harmful and destructive world that we live in," explains Clark. "Most of the songs deal with the current state of the nation and the world as a whole. In particular, the lyrics take aim at the ideals of a Godless people and the depletion of our morals and values."

DEMON HUNTER has always been a Christian band and has represented their point of view strongly, despite the larger trend of watered down philosophies that straddle the line for popularity's sake. This stance has won them respect from fellow believers and opposite points of view alike.

"In this age it has seemingly become more and more detestable to be a Christian," Clark elaborates. "Our opinions on social and political issues are no longer tolerated as valid and we are commonly viewed as the enemy. Subjective truth, self-love, unrestricted perversion, the destruction of morality: these are the things that have ultimately brought us to a place of depression and madness.

"This album is the antithesis of the modern way of life."

"The World Is A Thorn" follows previous studio albums "Storm The Gates Of Hell" (2007), "The Triptych" (2005), "Summer Of Darkness" (2004) and "Demon Hunter" (2002), as well as the live album and three-disc CD/DVD set "45 Days", which have sold close to a combined half a million copies. It's an incredible feat for a band that has yet to venture from North America and has never toured regularly.

"Fading Away", the first video/single from "Storm The Gates Of Hell", has received over one million views on YouTube. That song, "Carry Me Down", "Undying", "One Thousand Apologies", "Not Ready to Die" and "Infected" — to name a few — have all been staples of Christian, college and speciality radio and featured continuously on MTV2's "Headbangers Ball" and Fuse. Ryan Clark was featured on the cover of Revolver in 2006 as part of their "Christian Metal" cover story and they are regularly a huge draw at festivals.

The "Hunters" in the "Blessed Resistance," as the band's most devoted fans are known, have championed the cause since day one and are making their voices heard throughout the underground.

DEMON HUNTER's level of commitment to the quality and presentation of their music is matched only by their attention of detail to their packaging and overall aesthetics. Ryan Clark's graphic design firm he co-owns with his brother Don (formerly of DEMON HUNTER), Invisible Creature, has racked up several Grammy nominations in the packaging category. The fans match that passion and dedication, proudly displaying the group's symbol on their social networking pages and tattooing it on their bodies.

For more information, visit

Third DEMON HUNTER edition of the Solid State Podcast (click on player below to launch audio):


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).