DEF LEPPARD Singer's DOWN 'N' OUTZ Planning To Release Album Of Original Material

This summer, DEF LEPPARD will release a new album and tour with HEART but before then, singer Joe Elliott will be touring the U.K. with his other group, DOWN 'N' OUTZ, a project also featuring members of THE QUIREBOYS. Last July, the guys released their debut album, "My ReGeneration", featuring covers of songs by MOTT THE HOOPLE, Ian Hunter and BRITISH LIONS, the music DOWN N' OUTZ performed as the support act for MOTT THE HOOPLE at one of the legendary band's 2009 reunion shows. Fans who bought the disc might have noticed that this CD is marked "Volume 1." That implies there is more to come and Joe told VH1 Radio Networks' Dave Basner what to expect from the band in the future.

"Originally, we said we'd do the second album would be more of the same but including MOTT THE HOOPLE songs which the first one didn't, the third one would've been a combination of artists from the same era and the fourth one was going to be [original] stuff, but I think we might just jump straight to the fourth one and make it the third one," he said.

Joe went on to explain why they might do that. "We've got some ideas I don't consider LEPPARD-like, if you like, that would be perfect for DOWN 'N' OUTZ," he said. "Those guys can write, too, so we can sit down and kind of bang some stuff out. Even on this tour in April we'll probably play each other a few ideas and it'll set us up to put them to one side until we get the chance to record them."

"Overnight Angels", the latest video from DOWN 'N' OUTZ, can be viewed below. The clip was directed by Lee Ford.

"My ReGeneration" was produced by Joe Elliott, with co-production by Ronan McHugh, and was recorded at Elliott's own studio Joe's Garage and Moor Hall studio in Bedfordshire.

"My ReGeneration" track listing (with original recording artist listed in parenthesis):

01. Golden Opportunity (Ian Hunter)
02. Storm (Mott)
03. Overnight Angels (Ian Hunter)
04. Career (No Such Thing As Rock 'n' Roll) (Mott)
05. England Rocks (Ian Hunter)
06. Shouting And Pointing (Mott)
07. By Tonight (Mott)
08. Who Do You Love (Ian Hunter)
09. One More Chance To Run (BRITISH LIONS)
10. Good Times (Mott, originally recorded by THE EASYBEATS)

DOWN 'N' OUTZ last year parted ways with bass player Ronnie Garrity. Elliott stated: "Of course we wish Ronnie all the best in his future endeavors. We will announce a new bass player shortly, but I can say now that it won't be [DEF LEPPARD bassist Rick Savage]!"

DOWN 'N' OUTZ will support Paul Rodgers (BAD COMPANY, FREE, QUEEN) on his U.K. tour in April.

In addition to Joe Elliott (vocals, guitar, keyboards), DOWN 'N' OUTZ features THE QUIREBOYS' Paul Guerin (guitar), Guy Griffin (guitar), Keith Weir (keyboards) and Phil Martini (drums).


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends). To report any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, please send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details.