DEF LEPPARD Guitarist Rehearses With OEDIPUS (Video)

Video footage of Los Angeles-based progressive alt-rockers OEDIPUS rehearsing the song "Final Machine" with DEF LEPPARD guitarist and MANRAZE frontman Phil Collen can be seen below. They also played several other tracks from OEDIPUS's latest album, "Vicious Little Smile", as well as a hard-rockin' rendition of MANRAZE's "Over My Dead Body".

Collen contributed lead and rhythm guitars to the studio recording of "Final Machine" which appears on "Vicious Little Smile", available now via THC: Music/Rocket Science.

"We had built up a mutual admiration through our label, who also releases Phil's MANRAZE project, and the idea came up for him to play on a track, and miraculously, it ended up happening," says OEDIPUS bassist/vocalist Jeremy Haffner. "It turned out amazing. We couldn't be happier or more honored. Phil is such a legendary and spectacular talent, and we were all just blown away with how cool and naturally it came together."

Added Collen: "I loved the track as soon as I heard it. These guys have got phenomenal energy. Playing on it was a blast, and I look forward to hearing the rest of the album."

Produced by Darian Cowgill (SLEEPING GIANT, MIDDLE CLASS RUT), "Vicious Little Smile" formally releases several of the L.A. trio's international hits, including "Tres Las", "Burn It Down" and "Gimme a Chance", which have already received airplay in over 30 countries.

"Vicious Little Smile" track listing:

01. L.I.Z.Z.Y
02. Kiss On The Fist
03. Tres Las
04. Burn It Down
05. Liar
06. Cheat
07. Final Machine (featuring Phil Collen)
08. Gimme A Chance
09. Every Piece Of You
10. Tied Together
11. Perfect Strangers
12. Moonlight

For over a decade, OEDIPUS has been one of L.A.'s best-kept secrets, from their roots as an underground progressive rock favorite to achieving status as an international rock powerhouse with massive success in Europe.

In 2010, Polish radio giant Eska Rock added OEDIPUS' single "Tres Las", which went on to top the Polish rock charts and became the genesis of 3 #1 Polish rock singles, followed by repeated visits to Europe, including a performance at Ursynalia, where the band performed at Poland's biggest open-air festival, alongside KORN, GUANO APES, ALTER BRIDGE, SIMPLE PLAN and more.

Photo credit: Thom Hazaert


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).