DEEP PURPLE: 'Secret' Gig Setlist Revealed

DEEP PURPLE played a secret show at London's Hard Rock Café on October 10, 2005, partly to launch the new album, "Rapture of the Deep", and partly to celebrate the reopening of the venue which was gutted by fire some time ago. It was an invite-only do. The concert was reportedly filmed, but it is not presently clear what the footage will be used for. DEEP PURPLE played a 65-minute set in front of just a couple of hundred people, and didn't come on until after 11:00 p.m. The group's setlist was as follows:

01. Fireball
02. I've Got Your Number
03. Strange Kind of Woman
04. Kiss Tomorrow Goodbye
05. Rapture of the Deep
06. Wrong Man
07. Lazy
08. Perfect Strangers
09. Highway Star
10. Smoke on the Water

In other news, the Live 8 Toronto DVD will include two (of three) tracks performed by DEEP PURPLE during the concert — "Smoke on the Water" and "Hush". The release date is November 4.

As previously reported, DEEP PURPLE fan site The Highway Star has uploaded several audio samples from the group's upcoming album, "Rapture of the Deep". Check out the songs "Wrong Man", "Rapture of the Deep" and "Clearly Quite Absurd" at this location.

"Rapture of the Deep" is scheduled for release on November 1 via Eagle Records. The band spent five weeks at a Los Angeles studio earlier this year recording the follow-up to 2003's "Bananas" with producer Mike Bradford. The album is described by keyboardist Don Airey as "a lot heavier" than "Bananas". "We recorded it in the same studio that use to be used by KORN, and it's got a wonderful sound," Airey said. "It's got a real, immediate drum and organ sound. I was really happy working in there."

"Rapture of the Deep" will be the group's first release since their split with the EMI label.

(Thanks: The Highway Star)


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).