DEEP PURPLE's IAN GILLAN: Video Clips From Solo Tour Available

Video clips of DEEP PURPLE frontman Ian Gillan performing on August 16 at the Town Ballroom in Buffalo, New York at the opening night of his "Gillan's Inn" solo tour have been posted online at Check them out: "Smoke on the Water" (video) and "Bluesy Blue Sea" (video).

Ian Gillan's setlist for the August 17 show at the Phoenix Concert Theatre in Toronto, Ontario, Canada was as follows:

01. Second Sight
02. No Laughing In Heaven
03. Into The Fire
04. Hang Me Out To Dry
05. Have Love Will Travel (Michal Lee Jackson song)
06. Wasted Sunsets
07. Not Responsible
08. No Worries
09. Unchain Your Brain
10. (Band Jam)
11. Bluesy Blue Sea
12. Moonshine
13. Texas State Of Mind (Michael Lee Jackson song)
14. Sugar Plum (with Jeff Healey)
15. When A Blind Man Cries (with Jeff Healey)
16. Men Of War
17. (Drum Solo)
18. Smoke On The Water
19. Trouble
20. Knockin' At Your Back Door

Gillan's five-week North American run is in support of his solo album "Gillan's Inn", which he released to celebrate 40 years in the music business. Gillan told Launch that he was really happy to start things off in Buffalo, for a few different reasons. "Buffalo's a great music town," he said. "It's got a lot of great music bars and musicians, and a great feeling for rock-and-roll. My friend and manager Michael Lee Jackson lives there. My producer Nick Blagona lives just across the border in Toronto — so it gives us a good excuse to visit 'the ballet.' That's a euphemism, of course, for a strip joint, but we call it 'the ballet.'"

Gillan will wrap things up September 21 in Medina, Minnesota.

DEEP PURPLE is currently on a break from a planned two-year-long world tour behind their latest album, "Rapture of the Deep". The band goes out again starting October 3 in Salzburg, Austria.

(Thanks: The Highway Star)


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).