DARKANE Guitarist Says Fans Won't Have To Wait Three Years For Next Album

Guitarist Christofer Malmström of the Swedish metal band DARKANE has issued the following update:

"I realized that it's only 3.5 weeks left until we leave for our massive U.S. tour with SOILWORK, WARBRINGER and SWALLOW THE SUN. This tour will be interesting. We will play two shows, then have a day off, and then play like 35 days in a row without a break. I hope everyone will stay healthy becuase this will be rough. Then we have a day off again. All in all, we are going to play 50 shows in 52 days. 41 shows in the U.S. and nine in Canada. But the bottom line is that we are all looking forward to this VERY much!

"We are going to play some songs from the new album, of course, and then we'll play some older songs that we haven't played live at all, or not in a very long time. That will be fun. Our ambition is also to write a lot of the material for the next DARKANE album on the tour. You will not have to wait for another three years before the next one is released."

DARKANE will release its fifth album, "Demonic Art", in North America on February 10, 2009 via Nuclear Blast Records. The North America version of the CD, which came out in Europe on October 24, 2008 via Massacre Records, will contain a bonus track and a bonus DVD.

"Demonic Art" track listing:

01. Variations of an Eye Crush (instrumental)
02. Leaving Existence
03. Demonic Art
04. Absolution
05. Execution 44
06. Impetious Constant Chaos
07. Demigod
08. Soul Survivor
09. The Killing of I
10. Wrong Grave (instrumental)
11. Still in Progress
12. Wrath Connection
13. Reborn in Greed (bonus track)

The bonus DVD will feature the following six components:

* The studio diaries
* The recording of the intro
* Live clips from the Chicago Powerfest
* Video clip for "Layers Of Lies"
* Trailer for the upcoming DARKANE DVD
* Trailer for "Seven Deadly Pieces" documentary

According to the band, "12 songs ended up on the final version, with about 48 minutes of pure aggressive, brutal, melodic, modern, technical, furious, fast, heavy and insane thrash metal! We are very proud of this album and we know for sure that if you liked what we've done before you won't be disappointed in any way this time either. DARKANE has developed in a way that hopefully will give us new fans as well, not meaning that we've turned softer or more mainstream... just better! ...and more humble."

Fan-filmed video footage of DARKANE's November 8, 2008 concert at Transilvania in Erstfeld, Switzerland can be viewed below (courtesy of "zurchio").


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).