DARK TRANQUILLITY: 'Fiction' Expanded Edition Details Revealed

Swedish melodic death metal pioneers DARK TRANQUILLITY are excited to be making their much-anticipated return to North America this week with what could well be hailed as one of the best guitar-shredder packages of the year. This tour, presented by ESP Guitars, Randall Amps, Guitar World and Revolver magazine, dubbed the "Tyranny And Bloodshred Tour", kicks off on May 9 and features headliners ARCH ENEMY and the diverse talents of DIVINE HERESY and FIREWIND.

Upon completing this tour, the band will continue headlining a slew of additional dates with DIVINE HERESY and FIREWIND supporting.

Visit www.myspace.com/dtofficial to view the complete tour itinerary.

Century Media Records will reissue DARK TRANQUILLITY's latest album, "Fiction", as an expanded edition in conjunction with the start of the North American tour. The new version will be composed of a CD/DVD and feature a slew of new material (see below for its complete track listing).

Commented DARK TRANQUILLITY singer Mikael Stanne: "To me, this marks the half time in the process of touring for this album. We've done a lot, but there are still places out there yet to be conquered and there are still people out there that we need to bring the metal to. Before we head back into the grotto of self-loathing to start writing the next album, we want to make sure that everyone out there knows just how proud we are of this album. It pleases me to no end that we can now finally present the whole album with all the songs we recorded and for whatever reason left out of the final product. Also, we decided to add a little retrospective, looking back at what the hell happened during the summer, in addition to some other things I am sure you will enjoy."

"Fiction" Expanded Edition:

Release dates:

North America: May 27, 2008
Europe: June 23, 2008

Duration: 68:29 (CD) 46:26 (DVD)

Track listing:

01. Nothing To No One
02. The Lesser Faith
03. Terminus (Where Death Is Most Alive)
04. Blind At Heart
05. Icipher
06. Inside The Particle Storm
07. Empty Me
08. Misery's Crown
09. Focus Shift
10. The Mundane And The Magic
11. A Closer End (rare Japanese bonus song)
12. Winter Triangle (instr. - rare Australian bonus song)
13. Below The Radiance (previously unreleased)
14. Silence In The House Of Tongues (instr. - previously unreleased)
15. Terminus (Where Death Is Most Alive) (live) **
16. The Lesser Faith (live) **

Bonus Material: DVD with over 45 minutes of live recordings and promo videos

Track listing:

01. Focus Shift (promo video)
02. Terminus (Where Death Is Most Alive) (brick-movie)
03. Focus Shift (rehearsal room video)
04. Blind At Heart (live) *
05. Final Resistance (live) *
06. Misery's Crown (live) *
07. Terminus (Where Death Is Most Alive) (live) **
08. The Lesser Faith (live) **
09. The New Build (live) **
10. The Endless Feed (live) **

* live at Bang Your Head!!! festival, Germany 2007
** live at Summer Breeze festival, Germany 2007

New artwork and booklet from Niklas Sundin.

European edition in extended booklet and deluxe Mediabook.

The MetalList webzine has posted video footage of DARK TRANQUILLITY performing the song "The Lesser Faith" live on April 24, 2008 at Tochka in Moscow, Russia. Watch the clip below. Photos from the concert can be found at this location.


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).