DARK FORTRESS To Release 'Eidolon' In February

German black metal outfit DARK FORTRESS will release its fifth full-length album, "Eidolon", via Century Media Records on the following dates:

Germany, Austria, Switzerland, Benelux, Italy: February 22
UK, France, Greece, Denmark, Norway, Rest Of Europe: February 25
Spain, Portugal: February 26
Finland, Sweden, Hungary: February 29

According to a press release, "Eidolon" is the band's first effort with new vocalist Morean, who is also responsible for the intricate lyrical concept.

In its nine chapters the album describes the initiation, dehumanization and unearthly rebirth of a transcending soul by mirror magic and astral projection.

An "Eidolon" is a Greek concept of an astral double of a living being or a "mirror." The concept describes a magic mirror ritual as while a person is in a trance, the surface of the mirror is used as a gate to enter a new dimension. Three songs each form the album's three chapters:

"Eidolon" track listing (50:17):

The first three songs describe the calling of beings from the other dimension, seen from three different angles:

01. The Silver Gate (6:50)
02. Cohorror (5:37)
03. Baphomet (6:24) *

The second part is the initiation, when the astral soul is dehumanized and torn away from his earthly ties.

04. The Unflesh (5:08)
05. Analepsy (6:01)
06. Edge of Night (3:57)

The third part is the rebirth „on the other side of the mirror“.

07. No Longer Human (5:36)
08. Catacrusis (4:34)
09. Antiversum (7:22)

* Featuring guest vocals by Tom Gabriel Fischer (CELTIC FROST)

DARK FORTRESS will embark on a European tour with HELHEIM and VULTURE INDUSTRIES in 2008.


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).