CRUCIFIED BARBARA Speaks To GetYourRockOut About 'In The Red' Album (Audio)

CRUCIFIED BARBARA Speaks To GetYourRockOut About 'In The Red' Album (Audio)

GetYourRockOut recently conducted an interview with the Swedish all-girl hard rock quartet CRUCIFIED BARBARA. You can now listen to the chat in the YouTube clip below.

CRUCIFIED BARBARA will release its fourth studio album, "In The Red", on September 15 via Despotz Records. The CD was recorded at Music A Matic studio in Gothenburg with producer Chips Kiesby and engineer Henryk Lip, and is the follow-up to 2012's "The Midnight Chase".

"In The Red" track listing:

01. I Sell My Kids For Rock 'N' Roll
02. To Kill A Man
03. Electric Sky
04. The Ghost Inside
05. Don't Call On Me
06. In The Red
07. Lunatic #1
08. Shadows
09. Finders Keepers
10. Do You Want Me
11. Follow The Stream

Story continues after advertisement

The song "Electric Sky" can be streamed using the SoundCloud widget below.

In a recent interview with Metal Underground, CRUCIFIED BARBARA frontwoman Mia Coldheart stated about the new CD: "We have taken our songwriting to a higher level. We have worked harder on the grooves and vocal melodies this time.

"We never had any rules when writing our songs to force them in any directions or genres, and this time when we wrote during this concentrated period of time, we were a bit afraid that all songs would sound the same. But we worked really hard on each song and didn't leave it until we were really satisfied with it, and the result, I think, is our best album so far and full of songs with life of their own that don't sound the same at all."

CRUCIFIED BARBARA's new video, "To Kill A Man", can be seen below. Mia told Metal Underground about the track's title and lyrics: "The song was mainly written in frustration over the Swedish police chief who dedicated his career to fighting sexism, standing up for equal rights and against abuse and rape of women. Then he went in prison for aggravated rape, purchasing sex, assault and more, which, of course, put the whole country in shock when it was revealed.

"Rape, sexual abuse, and violence is everyday news. You find the real cases in the papers every day, and you find the never-ending fiction cases about rape, murder, violence in movies and in TV series every day. We're constantly fed this and it feels like it's becoming normalized. Until the day it's your mother, sister, friend or girlfriend who gets attacked. Or your dad or son or brother… Then (that I wish no one) the thought will probably hit you too sometime: how does it feel to kill a man.

"This song, and our intention with the song is not that we want to kill men, to clarify to the ones that can't think further than a songtitle and there for get personally offended. The song is about the constant fear, anger, and sadness that we — from a woman's perspective — feel about rape, rapists, and for the constantly growing number of victims of all kind of sexism. The song could even have been called 'To Kill A Woman' and still be about the same subject, 'cause raping someone is hurting someone on the inside for the rest of her/his life; a life can be totally destroyed. But for the song, I really don't think that it had made any difference for the guys who get blinded [with] rage every time a woman or man speaks up for women's — or as I prefer — human rights."



To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).