CHINA BLUE To Release Debut In December

Frontiers Records will release CHINA BLUE's debut album, "Twilight of Destiny", on December 5.

The roots of CHINA BLUE date back to the late '80s when keyboardist Eric Ragno (TAKARA, TED POLEY, STEVE GRIMMETT, AMERICAN ANGEL, DANNY VAUGHN, HUGO/RAMOS) started a new band called CHINA BLUE with his best friend Tom Gasbarro. Eric wrote the music and Tom was the lyrical engineer. The songs written at the time used to explore those avenues of defining moments... decisions that were made in the "Twilight of Destiny". According to Eric, "It is where you either won the girl or lost it all in a sea of regret; the pivotal epiphany that the thing you love most just got away. We did things on our own terms and even after Tom moved on, I swore I would pick it up again one day."

Eric's career gained momentum with bands like VOX TEMPUS and moved in different directions until he played some of the old CHINA BLUE demos to his friend Michael Riesenbeck. Michael encouraged Eric to take the best out of the songs and add new material to round out a complete album. He and Eric co-wrote some great songs together and he pushed Eric to start the job to put together a recording lineup for the album and just go out and do his own thing.

On vocals, Eric recruited none other than the new TNT and former SHY singer Tony Mills, a legendary voice that added a special touch to the recording. As soon as Riesenbeck stepped out of the project, Josh Ramos (THE STORM, HARDLINE) immediately took the chance to be part of the project. Eric and Josh had already worked on a number of projects together (RAMOS/HUGO, LOS ANGELES) and the pair spent several weeks together writing in San Francisco. Zane Petersen (MALICIOUS, CONDITIONED RESPONSE) was a long-time friend of Eric's who helped him in various career circumstances and was the perfect choice with his powerful drumming. The final piece of the puzzle was Doug Odell on bass. He came about at the festival in Chicago during 2008 when he and Eric played in front of an amazing crowd with the "Melodic Rock All Stars" band. Additional musicians Ronny Smith on guitar, Pete Newdeck on drums and Fabrizio Grossi on bass appear as special guests, offering their incredible performances on this fabulous debut album.

Story continues after advertisement

"Twilight of Destiny" was produced by Eric, mixed by JK Northrup and took shape as a true melodic rock masterpiece during 2008, under the direction of executive producer and manager Ron Vining. This record is an absolute delight for all fans of classic SHY, JOURNEY and THE STORM music with a slight progressive edge. The classic '80s album artwork was designed by Wavid.

"This CHINA BLUE record has truly been a journey for all involved" concludes Eric Ragno. "We hope the music touches you in some way as it helped us explore who we are, when we faced those defining moments in life at the Twilight of Destiny."

"Twilight of Destiny" track listing:

01. What Do You Need But Love
02. I Feel Like Dying
03. Changing Ways
04. So Wrong
05. Don't Be A Stranger
06. Crimes (of Passion)
07. Passions
08. Movin' On
09. Twilight of Destiny
10. Lost
11. Take Me As I Am
12. A Last Goodbye

Check out audio samples at this location.


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).