CARPATHIAN FOREST Bassist's MISANTROF Releases Third 'Holy F**king ANTIChristmas' Compilation

Carrying on the tradition that it started in 2008, Norway's "anti"-label, Misantrof, has, for the third year, released its "anti"-Christmas compilation. Titled "Holy Fucking ANTIChristmas Volume III", the album takes an irreverent poke and what Christmas has become. This year's compilation contains 15 tracks, of varying genres, all loosely based on the various facets of Christmas, and which have either been newly written and recorded, or adapted, especially for album. Like all Misantrof releases the 15-track "Holy Fucking ANTIChristmas Volume III" is available for free download, together with cover art and information about the bands involved, at this location.

CARPATHIAN FOREST bassist Daniel Vrangsinn, who founded Misantrof in 2007, heads what he calls the "anti" label, which he set up as an alternative way for bands to release music. By making Misantrof entirely non-profit and allowing the bands to keep all the rights to their music and control all decisions regarding their releases, he has offered bands a viable alternative to the established labels, especially at time when few, if any, are willing to take risks with new bands.

Regarding the "ANTIChristmas" albums, Vrangsinn explains: "Christmas has now lost whatever religious significance it had to all but a small handful of people, and it has become an orgy of exploitation where everyone is encouraged to spend money they probably don't have. We just want to give everyone something for free, and hopefully at the same time make people sit back and realise that there are ways to have fun that do not require vast sums of money. All the bands featured have allowed us to use their music for free, even paying their own studio costs — it's a 55-minute reality check on Christmas, from 15 different artists, and made for pure enjoyment and cost-free self-indulgence."

The track listing is as follows:

Story continues after advertisement

* 26Z - "Santa Baby"
* A WASTE OF TALENT - "This Shallow World"
* AVVIST - "Unvelkommen"
* ELECTRONIC CHAOS - "We Eat So We Kill"
* PLAAG - "The Genius Of Christmas"
* IGNOTUS - "Existence Nihil"
* PAAL POTET - "Gjaer Faen I Jul'
* VRANGSINN - "Your Average Jesus"
* ION VADER - "Resist The NWO"
* GLOMB - "Nachten"
* RH - "Lamb Song II"
* PHOEBUSNEX - "Stolen"
* NIERTY - "Ballistic Angel" (previously unreleased bonus track)


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).