CAÏNA's 'Mourner' Album To Arrive In June

One of the U.K.'s most promising extreme music prodigies, CAÏNA mastermind Andrew Curtis-Brignell, has completed his sophomore album, "Mourner".

Following up his "Some People Fall" debut (which was preceded by two demo tapes released via Drakkar), where Brignell's bizarre take on raw uneasy avant-garde black metal took listeners for quite the trip, "Mourner" will present that much more of a challenging venture to undertake. More experimental, surreal, and uneasy, yet more dreamy, going further into the beyond, "Mourner" is an oppressive and challenging listening experience. Still having certain characteristics of its predecessor, "Mourner" sees Brignell continue to tread disjointed black metal ground, but now plays more with his sound palette by incorporating more sounds of 4AD post-rock, shoegaze, neo-folk, acoustic sing-along, and drone into this diverse mix.

"Mourner" track listing:

01. Waves Engulf a Pier
02. Hideous Gnosis
03. The Sleep of Reason
04. Constantine the Blind
05. I Reeled in Heaven
06. Morgawr
07. Requiem for Shattered Timbers
i) Overture
ii) Arc of Piss
iii) Ruined Shore
08. Permaneo Carmen
09. Wormwood Over Albion

"Mourner" is scheduled for release late June. A sample of "Hideous Gnosis" (along with other CAÏNA samples) are available at Brignell's MySpace page.


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).