BYZANTINE Releases Video For New Single 'Vile Maxim'

BYZANTINE Releases Video For New Single 'Vile Maxim'

The Friday (July 28), BYZANTINE will release its new album, "The Cicada Tree", via Metal Blade Records.

Heralded as the most underrated band from the New Wave Of American Heavy Metal movement, BYZANTINE has slowly gained a cult-like following after releasing five genre-bending albums.

For a preview of "The Cicada Tree", a video for the new single, "Vile Maxim" — directed/edited by Holly Mollohan and produced by Screaming Butterfly Entertainment — can be seen below.

To state that "The Cicada Tree" is "classic BYZANTINE" in no way implies that this is an album solely rooted in the band's past. Certainly, all of the hallmarks that have made their sound so compelling for close to two decades are present and correct: muscular-yet-lithe riffs and fluid leads play against gripping, dynamic and at times unpredictable rhythms, while rich melodies and lyrics that are both involved and intelligent wind their way through every track. But, once more, the groove metal unit has continued their steady evolution — the interplay between their members organic and natural, imbuing the record's sixty-two-minute running time with a freshness and urgency.

Story continues after advertisement

Founding member Chris "OJ" Ojeda states: "The first few albums, you're trying to find your sound, and sometimes you tend to not see the forest for the trees. Now, on album number six, it seems a calmness took hold during the songwriting process, possibly from just having more confidence in our sound. At this point, our fans expect us to experiment and push our boundaries, which is an extremely liberating feeling."

"The Cicada Tree" track listing

01. New Ways To Bear Witness
02. Vile Maxim
03. Map Of The Creator
04. Dead As Autumn Leaves
05. Trapjaw
06. The Subjugated
07. Incremental
08. The Cicada Tree
09. Verses Of Violence
10. Moving in Stereo (THE CARS cover)
11. Servitude (FISHBONE cover)

To celebrate "The Cicada Tree"'s release, BYZANTINE will have an official album release party on July 29 at The V Club in Charleston, West Virginia (where the "New Ways To Bear Witness" video was filmed). DREAM THE ELECTRIC SLEEP and AGAINST will also perform with BYZANTINE at the event.


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).