BLACK WATER RISING: New Single Available For Streaming

New York hard rockers BLACK WATER RISING will release their as-yet-untitled sophomore album in July. The follow-up to the band's critically acclaimed self-titled debut is described in a press release as "another honest, barebones, no frills rock album.

"The recipe is the same as the first. I didn't deviate from what I believe BLACK WATER RISING music to be, I didn't set out to grow or mature," says frontman Rob Traynor.

"I feel this new album is not much of a departure from the first, and I believe that's a good thing. Besides, I don't think fans would want it any other way. I'm still writing from the same place I was writing from before, I'm still the same guy... for better or for worse. We're still the same band, with the addition of a killer new guitarist, Dennis Kimak, who joined us after the departure of our original guitarist Johnny."

The first single from the new album, "Show No Mercy", can be streamed using the SoundCloud widget below.

Story continues after advertisement

BLACK WATER RISING was formed from the ashes of various national touring acts. After releasing two albums with a band called DUST TO DUST, Traynor locked himself away in his Brooklyn, New York recording studio, later emerging with a collection of songs that would become the seeds of BLACK WATER RISING's debut album. Traynor was soon joined by former BOILER ROOM drummer Mike Meselsohn, former STEREOMUD guitarist Johnny Fattoruso and bassist Oddie McLaughlin and they would unleash their self-titled debut album on March 2, 2010.

Invigorated and eager to capitalize on the success of their debut album, the band's new material promises to be riff-heavy and proudly anchored in the foundations of traditional hard rock and metal songwriting, with hooks and catchy choruses to pull you in. New songs like "Show No Mercy", "Pissed And Driven", "Last Man Standing" and "Fire It Up" combine the band's love of THIN LIZZY and JUDAS PRIEST with the sonic stomp of BLACK LABEL SOCIETY, all while retaining a musical identity of their own.


Rob Traynor - Vocals, Guitar
Dennis Kimak - Guitar
Mike Meselsohn - Drums
Oddie McLaughlin - Bass


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).