BLACK SABBATH: 1978 Live Recordings Unearthed

Rob Dwyer of the Black Sabbath Live Project has issued the following report:

"'King Biscuit Flower Hour' recorded BLACK SABBATH at Civic Arena in Pittsburgh on September 2nd, 1978. Strangely enough, only four songs were used in the original broadcast — 'Snowblind', 'Black Sabbath', 'Iron Man', and 'Paranoid'. These tracks have been recycled in varying quality on numerous bootleg released since then.

"As of 2006, Wolfgang's Vault purchased the rights to much of the 'King Biscuit' catalog. Among these newly acquired tapes is a nearly complete version of the long unheard Pittsburgh '78 show!! With a running time of 64:25, this tape lacks the show opener 'Symptom Of The Universe', but adds five previously unheard live tracks plus the drum and guitar solos. With only a handful of professionally recorded '78 shows in circulation (the disappointing London 6/19/78 and the incomplete Abilene 12/7/78), this should be something of a treat for the collectors.

Track listing:

01. Snowblind (6:34)
02. Black Sabbath (7:26)
03. Dirty Women (6:58)
04. Rock & Roll Doctor + Drum Solo (10:12)
05. Guitar Solo (7:13)
06. Electric Funeral (3:10)
07. Iron Man (7:20)
08. Fairies Wear Boots (6:16)
09. Children Of The Grave (6:05)
10. Paranoid (3:11)

"Wolfgang's Vault is still working out the rights issues to release recordings like this one, but you can actually listen to the extended version of this show here! You will need to register with Wolfgang's Vault to listen to the show, but there is no cost to do so. Additionally, the now legendary Asbury Park '75 show can also be heard at Wolfgang's Vault. Click here for more information."

In related news, vocalist Carl Sentance (PERSIAN RISK, KROKUS) has posted a video clip from a performance he did with the GEEZER BUTLER BAND on his official web site. It is believed that the track is titled "Heat In The Street", but this has not been confirmed. This professionally shot concert footage is from a showcase they did in London in 1987. Check it out at this location.


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).