BALTIMOORE: More 'Quick Fix' Details Revealed

Swedish hard rockers BALTIMOORE are back on May 15 with their eleventh album, serving up a "Quick Fix" of their unique brand of classic rock vibes and modern-day mentality. Led by the distinctive trademark vocals of Björn Lodin, a voice which is home to natural warmth and distortion, this newly formed incarnation of BALTIMOORE provides ten new tracks of musicality and melody within a bed rock of rhythm and dynamics.

Written, engineered and produced by Lodin at his home studio — "the only thinkable method" — the new album sees a re-acquaintance with Hammond organist Örjan Fernkvist whose vintage tones bring back a more melodic edge after the last three dual guitar releases. In addition a new rhythm section of bassist Björn Lundkvist and drummer Robban Bäck (both from BALLS — the short-lived 2008 band involving Lodin) knit closely with a talented newcomer on guitar in the guise of Emanuel Hedberg. On his new band lineup, Lodin comments, "These guys know their instruments very well and on this record they all get to play them and shine. Having new players is essential to find new sounds and try different things. I wish I could find a singer who would do my part!"

The album's origins date back to early 2008 with a couple of tracks being unrealized working ideas for what was to become the BALLS "Chameleon" album. "I pretty much started writing right after BALLS had had its premature ejaculation in December 2008," Lodin says. "As always, the goal was just to make music, I need to make music! I knew I wanted organ in the lineup again, so in came Örjan. We started joggling some ideas around and in January 2009 the lineup was complete. I had an idea of having a lap steel player instead of guitar, but schedules didn't work out. Instead, Emanuel came on board and he had a playing style that helped shape the tracks to their final state. In mid-February we had all 10 songs ready and started recording."

Lyrically, the album sees Björn deliver numerous stories through the eyes of different characters. "I dwell on the same stuff as before, only here I think I get to the point a bit clearer and faster," he says. "'Quick Fix' is about making fast decisions rather than making things too complicated and getting stuck. My characters are not always my inner thoughts and beliefs but I'm quite sure they do the trick. They're all about making decisions. Some of them are easy to relate to and decide whether you agree with what I'm singing or not, hopefully some of them will start the listener thinking about stuff you should have an answer to or opinion of."

On the album's overall musical direction, Lodin contemplates, "Well, I think I've come a bit closer to where I really wanna be music-wise. I've grown in all slots I've been involved with — songwriter/engineer/producer. I get this feeling after every release and I think that's how it's supposed to be. This is my best effort so far. I'm already planning for how the next album will sound and I hope I feel the same way about that one after its done."

"Quick Fix" sees BALTIMOORE in the 20th year of its lifespan deliver its eleventh album — a fresh, inspired album, which also sees the added bonus of instrumental versions of each track. What may seem a bizarre idea Björn spells out his rationale as "I feel these tracks stand up just fine in terms of purely musical composition. Plus I'm really hoping someone will come up with new vocal melodies and lyrics or at least use them to record their own lovely voices. See you on YouTube?!"

"Quick Fix" track listing :

01. I'm All About Me
02. Haze Of Wonder
03. I Am Who I Am When I Am Alone
04. Make Good
05. How Can You Undo What's Become Undone
06. The Shame Lingers On
07. Tell Me Who You Wanna Be Today
08. Somebody Look At Me
09. Shoot The Dark
10. The Bet


Björn Lodin - Lead Vocals
Örjan Fernkvist - Organ
Emanuel Hedberg - Guitar
Björn Lundkvist - Bass, Backing Vocals
Robban Bäck - Drums

"Quick Fix" will be released on May 15 via BLP Music. A preview of all the songs from the CD is available for download at this location.

The "Quick Fix" cover artwork can be viewed below.

BALTIMOORE released a DVD-R in 2007 containing footage taken at the band's December 17, 2006 gig at the Hard Rock Cafe in Stockholm, Sweden. The DVD-R also includes an interview with the group and videos for the songs "Wellaway" and "Give Me What You've Got". The interview is in Swedish, but it has English subtitles.


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).