BAD BRAINS: New Audio Sample Available

An audio sample of a new BAD BRAINS song, entitled "Jah People Make The World Go Round", has been posted on the band's MySpace page. The track comes off the group's first proper studio album in over a decade, "Build A Nation", which is scheduled to arrive in stores on June 26 via Megaforce Records. The album features all the original members of the group: HR, Darryl Jenifer, Dr. Know and Earl Hudson.

Produced by longtime fan, Adam Yauch of the BEASTIE BOYS, "Build A Nation" is a return to form for the band that helped define American punk and hardcore music. It also represents the first studio album, outside BEASTIE BOYS albums, to be recorded at the BEASTIE BOYS' "Oscilloscope" laboratories and studio compound in New York City.

Considered by many to be the "holy grail" of punk rock, the BAD BRAINS iconic legacy is best defined by their frenetic and legendary live shows. They are one of the definitive American punk groups who garner the same respect as the SEX PISTOLS, BLACK FLAG, THE CLASH, and THE RAMONES. They brought a new dimension to music by melding punk and reggae into an innovative style that has yet-to-be copied. "Build A Nation" returns the band to their early roots with a raw, analog-driven chaotic album.

A BAD BRAINS worldwide tour will commence around the release, including several major festival appearances both in the USA and Europe. Sasquatch Festival on May 27 will see both BAD BRAINS and BEASTIE BOYS take the stage. Details will be announced shortly.

"Build A Nation" track listing:

01. Give Thanks And Praises
02. Jah People Make The World Go Round
03. Pure Love
04. Natty Dreadlocks 'Pon The Mountain Top
05. Build A Nation
06. Expand Your Soul
07. Jah Love
08. Let There Be Angels (Just Like You)
09. Universal Peace
10. Roll On
11. Until Kingdom Comes
12. In The Beginning
13. Send You No More Flowers
14. Peace Be Unto Thee


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).