AXXIS: 'Best Of' Collection Detailed

EMI Electrola will release the "Best Of" album from German metallers AXXIS on November 17.

EMI Electrola originally asked AXXIS for their co-operation in releasing a "best of" collection from the band several years ago. But the group was reluctant to release a compilation of material that was already available on the market. AXXIS singer Bernhard Weiss explained: "Contractually EMI is allowed to [do] with our old songs [as they please], but in this case we wouldn't support this project!"

After a long period of negotiations, the label and the band are now very happy with the final result.

Featuring previously unreleased material, remixed songs, and special acoustic versions of older tracks recorded earlier this year at Soundworxx studio, "Best Of" is a double CD containing ballads on the first disc and acoustic recordings on the second disc.

Said Weiss: "We were able to convince the label to invest a little bit more money into the project to get a worthy result. Today everybody is able to create their own AXXIS song collection or own sampler with [CD burning] etc. If a major label wants to release a 'best of,' it must be more special!"

"Best of Axxis" (view cover artwork at this location) track listing:

CD1 (ballads)

01. Only God knows (Remix 2006)*
02. Stay Don't Leave Me
03. Waterdrop (Classic Mix 2006)*
04. Touch the Rainbow (Long Version)
05. Fire and Ice (Preproduction 1988)*
06. Brandnew World (Remix 2006)*
07. Hold You
08. Face to Face (Live)
09. Tears of the Trees (Orginal Demo Version 1988)*+
10. Love Doesn't Know Any Distance
11. Sarajevo
12. On My Own
13. Heaven 7th Train (Live 1992)*
14. Hide Away
15. World of Mystery

* previously unreleased
+ from the 1988 demo tape that landed AXXIS their major label deal

CD2 (acoustic recordings)

01. Living in a World (2006)*
02. Kingdom of the Night (2006)*
03. Little War (2006)*
04. Ships are Sailing (2006)*
05. Touch the Rainbow
06. Heaven in Black
07. C'est La Vie (Tango Version)
08. Fire and Ice
09. Another Day
10. Kings Made of Steel
11. Julia

* Newly recorded and previously unreleased

Bonus: two AXXIS videoclips from EMI that were broadcast by MTV between 1990 and 1996

AXXIS' most recent album, "Paradise In Flames" (AFM Records), entered the German national chart at position No. 45 upon its release in January 2006. The band's ninth studio CD was written and recorded in their own Soundwoxx studio, produced by Harry Oellers (keyboards) and Bernhard Weiss (vocals), and mixed and mastered by Dennis Ward (PINK CREAM 69) at House Of Audio Studios in Karlsdorf, Germany.


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).