AUTUMN TEARS: Long-Awaited 'Eclipse' Album Due In October

New England "neo-classical darkwave metal" act AUTUMN TEARS have finally ended their four-year absence from the progressive, extreme recording scene with the announcement of the official worldwide release date for their highly anticipated new CD, "Eclipse", as Tuesday, October 26, 2004.

The forthcoming CD is "the most epic, conceptual, and fullest neoclassical piece of music [the group] have ever offered," according to a Dark Symphonies press release. "Lush strings, acoustic guitars, and woodwinds accompany soaring orchestral soundscapes, painting the backdrop for a staggering array of vocal performances that range from operatic and classical solos to Baltic choral passages and duets."

"Eclipse" features Erika Swinnich's angelic voice in her final performance with the band, as well as the talents of Terran Olson (ex-MAUDLIN OF THE WELL, KAYO DOT) performing live clarinet and flutes, Greg Ball (ex-LONG WINTERS STARE, SOUND OF ENOCH) performing upright contrabass and classical guitar, and Laurie Ann Haus (ex-RAIN FELL WITHIN, EPHEMERAL SUN) performing lead and backing vocals. Ted also steps behind the mic once again employing chant and acappella vocal styles, both solo and duet, to further diversify as well as return to the roots of the ever-evolving AUTUMN TEARS' sound.

Distributed in the U.S. by IDN and Dark Symphonies' label partners around the world, the first 2000 copies of "Eclipse" will come housed in a gorgeous, deluxe eight-panel digipak.

"Eclipse" track listing:

01. Commemoration
02. Ophelia’s Crown
03. Three
04. Dawn
05. Remember
06. Flight
07. The Beauty In All Things
08. Pandora's Womb
09. At A Distance
10. Eclipse

In related news, former AUTUMN TEARS vocalist Erika Swinnich has reportedly joined forces with former AGONY COLUMN guitarist Stuart Laurence in a new "true metal" band called IGNITOR. Other musicians involved with the project are: Pat Doyle (THE OFFENDERS), Brendon Bigelow (DEATH OF MILLIONS) and Beverly Barrington (T.A.N.G.).

(Thanks: Tartarean Desire)


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).