ATROCITY Featuring YASMIN: 'After The Storm' Details Revealed

"After The Storm", the new "project album" from Germany's ATROCITY featuring frontman Alexander Krull's sister Yasmin, will be released on the following dates:

Sep. 1 - Spain
Sep. 4 - Germany, Austria, Switzerland, Benelux, Sweden
Sep. 6 - Rest of Europe
Sep. 14 - USA, Canada

The CD was produced by Krull at Mastersound Studio and it features the following track listing:

01. A New Arrival
02. Call Of Yesteryear
03. After The Storm
04. Silvan Spirit
05. Black Mountain
06. As The Sun Kissed The Sky
07. Transilvania
08. The Flight Of Abbas Ibn Firnas
09. Goddess Of Fortune And Sorrow
10. The Otherworld
11. Eternal Nightside

The cover artwork was created by Stefan Heilemann and can be viewed below.

Commented Krull: "Fans and musicians of the band have been waiting much too long for the continuation of 'Calling The Rain'. Now time has finally come and we just can't wait to let our fans hear and enjoy the new songs.

"We are incredibly happy with the result. The songs contain great rhythms, the music is sounding very special and organic, moreover, the energetic vocals together with the mythological based lyrics convey a magic atmosphere.

"Well, once more it's time to take blinkers off! Just listen, and it will take you away!"

The collaboration with Yasmin began on ATROCITY's 1994 "Blut" album, where Alex's sister contributed guest vocals. In 1995 the mystical and very special ATROCITY FEATURING YASMIN "Calling The Rain" mini-album was released, and it became a success. "Calling The Rain" contained mainly acoustic songs and represented a complete musical departure for what was primarily known as a death metal band at that time. As no other group was playing that kind of music, it was simply dubbed "ethno metal." "A funny name for creating a kind of metal nobody had a name for," said Alex. "As we are a metal act and playing with Yasmin songs influenced by ethno and world music, it's OK to me, although I don't like categories."

ATROCITY's last collaboration with Yasmin came in the shape of the "Desert Land" song for the first Orkus compilation in 1999. Since then, fans have demanded a new official release from ATROCITY featuring Yasmin.

According to a press release, "After The Storm" "does not simply repeat the collaboration, but elevates the songwriting and production to a new level. All instruments were performed live and a huge amount of percussions allows for a tapestry of complementary rhythms. The driving and tribal-like beats are the foundation of ATROCITY's music and allows for an intense and fascinating atmosphere. The string instruments and vocals harmonize perfectly with the mood of the individual songs and with the whole music respectively. Besides wonderful atmospheric songs such as the title track 'After The Storm' or the emotional 'Silvan Spirit', true rock songs like 'Black Mountain' or the anthem 'Transilvania' show a completely new side to a metal band. With the mystical songs 'A New Arrival' and 'As The Sun Kissed The Sky' or the music turned Celtic legend 'The Otherworld', ATROCITY, together with the exotic vocals of Yasmin, takes the audience into a mythological world. The band featuring the singing siblings Alex and Yasmin switches to high gear with the catchy song 'Call Of Yesteryear'!"


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).