ARCH ENEMY Guitarist CHRISTOPHER AMOTT Releases Solo Album

ARCH ENEMY guitarist Christopher Amott has just released his first "proper" solo album, entitled "Follow Your Heart", in Japan.

"It's not metal," Amott told AOL's Noisecreep. "It's more of a rock 'n' roll effort. It's pretty psychedelic. It's '70s-style and it's me singing. I think it's very intricate and diverse. It's also bluesy and funky."

According to Amott, "Follow Your Heart" features artwork (see below) that was designed and painted by the guitarist himself. "I started doing it [painting] seriously in recent years," he said about his foray into a finer art. He doesn't take classes but admits that he does practice the art of painting when he can. "I did draw as a kid, but the I started playing guitar and that took over," he said.

Amott continued, "I am going to keep painting and drawing. It will be big part of my life after ARCH ENEMY."

In 2008, Amott began to consider his creative options as a mature musician. He began writing songs of an entirely different atmosphere, which saw his guitar playing focused less on technical ecstasy and more on a chord-based blues rock ambience as a foundation for more prominent vocal and lyrical ideas. These compositions developed into his next solo project; the album would be called "Follow Your Heart", released under his own name in 2010.

"Follow Your Heart" track listing:

01. Tibet
02. Holy Mountain
03. Kilimanjaro
04. In the Pale Moonlight
05. Track #5
06. Space Song
07. From Here To There
08. Lifeline

"Tibet" and "Holy Mountain" are being streamed on Amott's MySpace page.

The second ("Embrace The Mystery") and third ("Three") albums from Christopher Amott's ARMAGEDDON project recently received a proper and domestic release outside of Japan, where they originally came out back in the years 2000 and 2002, respectively. "Embrace The Mystery & Three" was released as a two-CD set with upgraded artwork, several bonus tracks and liner notes on November 16, 2009 in Europe and on January 26, 2010 in North America via Century Media Records.


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).