ANCIIENTS Added To 'Death To All Tour'; New Song Available For Streaming

Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada-based progressive rock/metal outfit ANCIIENTS has premiered a new song from their forthcoming album, "Heart of Oak". The new track, "Faith And Oath", is available for streaming using the SoundCloud player below (courtesy of

Regarding the song, ANCIIENTS guitarist Chris Dyck said: "'Faith And Oath' began lyrically with some combo ideas about the Mayans' serpent-god beliefs and a strange dream I had about a snake-killing ritual. The serpent originally was representing the deceiver; as the song progressed and the vibe was realized it became our anthem for courage and strength. The chorus features Scott Ruddy from WEIRDING (killer doomy Vancouver band) on vocals with me. The proggy fast riff is what i like to call a "ninja riff"...looks hard, easy to play. Kenny's solo here is mental and I love how Hannay and Boon shift the timing on the last two repetitions of the solo riff to a swinging old 3/4 beat. The outro has Kenny laying down some sweet Dave Gilmours. We all dig PINK FLOYD... Gilmour is the man. Cheers."

ANCIIENTS has also announced its participation in the Death To All Tour. ANCIIENTS will hit the road alongside legendary metal icons Paul Masvidal, Steve DiGiorgio, and Sean Reinert, the "Human" lineup of legendary metal pioneers DEATH. Regarding the tour, ANCIIENTS guitarist Kenneth Cook said: "We are completely stoked and overjoyed to be invited to play on the 'Death To All' tour. Chuck Schuldiner and DEATH are legendary, and it is an honor to be able to celebrate his life for a great cause." A portion of the proceeds will once again benefit the Sweet Relief charity, a non-profit devoted to helping musicians without insurance who are facing serious illness.

"Heart Of Oak" is slated for a North American release on April 16 and will be available on CD, limited-edition double gatefold LP and digitally. The CD was produced by the band, and engineered by Jesse Gander (JAPANDROIDS, BISON B.C.) at The Hive Creative Labs (BLACK MOUNTAIN, NOMEANSNO) in Vancouver. It was mastered by by Alan Douches at West West Side Music (SEPULTURA, SUFFOCATION, UNEARTH) in New Windsor, New York. The cover artwork was drawn by illustrator Alison Lilly.

Story continues after advertisement

"Heart Of Oak" track listing:

01. Raise the Sun
02. Overthrone
03. Falling in Line
04. The Longest River
05. One Foot in the Light
06. Giants
07. Faith and Oath
08. Flood and Fire
09. For Lisa


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).