ANATA Checks In From The Studio

Swedish death metallers ANATA, who are currently recording their as-yet untitled upcoming new album, have decided to do things differently this time around. In vocalist/guitarist Fredrik Schalin's words, "Why waste money in the studio, let's buy their equipment instead!"

Schalin and bassist Henrik Drake reveal details of the recording method, some of the band's new bass and guitar gear and info about a new song in their new studio report.

Fredrik Schalin comments: "On the previous album, we chose to record only clean, lined guitar tracks. We did this in order to make up the final sound later, in a process called re-amping. Although the sound may have ended up a bit too mellow on that album, the recording technique is ingenious. And since we always throw the studio guys out anyway (and do all the tracking ourselves), we thought this time we should instead set up a temporary recording unit at my place. So we bought the Motu 2408 sound card we had previously used in Studiomega, set some computers and pre-amps up and started recording."

Read the full report at this location.

Story continues after advertisement

Brand new photos, along with previously posted shots from the studio, can be found here.

Following on from 2006's "The Conductor's Departure", ANATA's as-yet-untitled fifth full-length album is being recorded in two locations, with the drums being laid down at Fascination Street Studios (OPETH, AMON AMARTH, PARADISE LOST) in Orebro, Sweden, while the guitars, bass and vocals will all be tracked by the band themselves with their own equipment.

ANATA has revealed a tentative track listing for the new CD (in no particular order):

01. Lanterns Shine Black
02. Acts Of God
03. The Darkest Of Souls
04. The Part Of Me That Had To Die
05. A Welcome Change Of Pain
06. Machinery
07. Exploited And Left To Die
08. Greed Conquers All


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).