AMORAL: 'Silhouette' Video Released

"Silhouette", the new video from the Finnish metal/hard rock outfit AMORAL, can be seen at The song comes off the band's fifth album, "Beneath", which will be released on October 26. Visit the official AMORAL webshop to see the different bundle options of the CD with all-new shirt designs. All pre-ordered albums will be signed by the whole band. The album comes equipped with a stunning 18-page poster booklet (made by Spanish artist Marta Nael), expanding the cover artwork into all its glory.

"Beneath" track listing:

01. Beneath
02. Wrapped in Barbwire
03. Silhouette
04. Things Left Unsaid
05. (Won't Go) Home
06. Closure
07. Same Difference
08. Hours of Simplicity
09. Wastelands
10. This Ever Ending Game
11. No Future
12. Of Silent Stares & Fire Lost

"(Won't Go) Home" can be streamed using the SoundCloud player below. Whereas the CD's first single, "Same Difference", leaned towards hard rock, "(Won't Go) Home", with its riff-oriented structure and growling vocals, represents the heavier side of the new LP.

"'(Won't Go) Home' is a heavy and technical track through and through," singer Ari Koivunen said. "Masi's [Hukari, guitar] Indian-flavored solo is also one of my favorites. Vocal-wise, this song was the hardest to pull off, as my voice was pretty blown after two weeks of singing in the studio. I ended up recording the vocals by myself during the small hours, and I'm very happy with the results."

"Beneath" was recorded at Sound Supreme studios in Hmeenlinna, Finland, and was produced by Janne Saksa and guitarist Ben Varon.

"I'd describe the album as 'three steps forward, one step back,'" Varon previously said. "There are several nods to our past in form of long songs, intricate riffs and growling vocals. But the main focus is still on the strong melodies, big choruses and catchy riffs, just as was on our last album, 'Show Your Colors'."

"Beneath" marks the recording debut of AMORAL's new guitarist Masi Hukari. Hukari who joined the group late in the songwriting process immediately wrote two songs together with Varon, both which ended up on the album. Another first is that, from now on, AMORAL has two lead guitar players.

"Masi is such a talent, it would have been a crime to make him 'just' the rhythm guitarist," Ben explained. "It's been killer to be able to do lead trade-off for the first time in the band's history, for example. Masi is responsible for many of the guitar highlights of the album."


Expanded artwork:

Photo credit: Valtteri Hirvonen

(Thanks: Melica / Night Elves)


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).