01. St. James
02. Dissentipede
03. Anxiety Attack
04. Bitter To The End
05. Lovebirds
06. Many Masters
07. Many Lives
08. Shallow Believer
09. Dead Saints
10. Taken
11. Victus

RATING: 8/10

Calgary's FALL CITY FALL are still only making a name for themselves, but what they're doing right is seeking to push the tired-out screamo and proto 'core platitudes towards something real. After five years of fine-tuning their craft with a couple of EPs to their credit ("1629" and "Dead Saints"), FALL CITY FALL come out swinging with their deafening full-length debut, "Victus".

Though FALL CITY FALL will be a hard sell to those who could care less about NORMA JEAN, THE DILLINGER ESCAPE PLAN, QUELL and THE CHARIOT, those who've supported said bands over the years are going to readily grab onto the bitter chaos of "Victus" like it's part of a second, nastier coming of its wilted ilk.

FALL CITY FALL bears two yelpers (Nathan Zorn and Keenan Pylychaty) jockeying for every inch of space not occupied by squelching feedback and clumping counter tempos. Zorn and Pylychaty ralf, rip, spit and snort throughout "Victus"' 29 minutes of screeching pandemonium, while the rest of the band (Jordon Storey, guitars, Nathan Pope, drums and Andre Urquidi, bass) whip the crap out the of air around them.

"Shallow Believer", "Many Masters", "Dissentipede", "Dead Saints", "Bitter to the End" and "Anxiety Attack" relish teetering on the edge of recklessness amidst the spiraling blitzes, grinding straits and the occasional breakdown section that knows when to get out as soon as it gets in. The recurring theme of false piety and duplicitous fanaticism turns "Victus" into one ugly beast, which Zorn and Pylychaty personify vociferously on the scuttling "Taken" and "St. James". Everything is wrong and everything is lost. Thus we're all fucked, as they taunt their listeners with the same flagellating effect as a levied act of contrition. Good times.

The instrumental "Many Lives" serves as not only a breather from all of "Victus"' auditory abuse, it gives FALL CITY FALL the opportunity to show off some different chops. Particularly cool is Nathan Pope's slick stick polyrhythm accenting his primary plod. Pope builds an ominous slide vibe before "Shallow Believer" runs like hell with every lick of fury the band has stationed inside themselves.

Fiercer and much more efficient than your typical screamo camp, FALL CITY FALL may be some jaded chaps, but they'll easily convert newcomers to their blaring anti-litany.


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).