01. We Never Come In Peace
02. Theocracy
03. Partisans of Grief
04. Traitors
05. Ghosts of Catalonia
06. Occupation
07. Ruling Class Cancelled
08. The Arbiter
09. American Idolatry
10. Thrown Into The Sun
11. Black Sites

RATING: 8.5/10

MISERY INDEX is one well-oiled machine that consistently releases great albums. Its style of grindcore/crust-infused death metal is second to none and the quartet just keeps getting better, whether in the studio or on the stage. The last album, "Discordia" upped the ante with more dynamic songwriting, while retaining every last bit of ferocity, but "Traitors" makes an even bigger leap forward.

The tracks on "Traitors" are considerably more varied and the songwriting more dynamic. After joining for the "Discordia" release, guitarist/vocalist Mark Kloeppel began making significant contributions to the songwriting and that continues on the new release, one defined by a truly collaborative effort by all the members and it shows. Looking only at the staggeringly violent manner in which the music is performed on a MISERY INDEX album, nary a fan would be disappointed with the results on "Traitors". The barking vocals from Kloeppel and bassist/main lyricist Jason Netherton continue to be among the most ferocious in extreme metal, made even more biting when one considers the astute sociopolitical commentary. The dueling guitars of Kloeppel and Sparky Voyles produce riffs that will sand the skin right off your face, interspersed with solos that rip through the air, while Adam Jarvis again proves that he's one of metal's most devastating drummers. But there is more to this album than remorseless destruction of the senses.

A sense of melody is more apparent this time around, but not in a dominant kind of way. You'll hear it sections of songs like "Theocracy" and "Ghosts of Catalonia". The changeups are better too, as heard on "Partisans of Grief", which features some interesting axe interplay; one section includes a lighter picking counterpoint that gets your attention every time. The tune also happens to feature the guest vocals of THE RED CHORD's Guy Kozowyk, lending more depth to the track. Tomas Lindberg makes an appearance on "Ruling Class Cancelled" as well. Heck, there is even a shouted chorus on the title track. In another example, the pace slows — a relative rarity on a MISERY INDEX album — to a sinister grind on "Thrown into the Sun". Getting right to the point, "Traitors" features the most individual track identity of any MISERY INDEX album yet.

Then you've got Kurt Ballou's engineering/production, which puts more emphasis on the band's scathing sound. Wrap it all up with the superb album art, which is oh so fitting to the band's disdain for the current state of American politics, and "Traitors" ends up being a mandatory purchase for any fan of extreme music. MISERY INDEX is nearly untouchable.


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).